Review: Beach Colors

 Beach Colors by Shelley Noble

Publisher: William Morrow

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

While renowned designer Margaux Sullivan was presenting her highly praised collection during New York City’s Fashion Week, her husband was cleaning out their bank account. A week after he disappeared, the bank foreclosed on Margaux’s apartment and business.

Suddenly broke, betrayed, and humiliated, Margaux has nowhere else to turn to but home: the small coastal town of Crescent Cove, Connecticut, where she once knew love, joy, and family before she put them behind her on the climb to fame. When she’s stopped for speeding by local interim police chief Nick Prescott, Margaux barely remembers the “townie” boy who worshipped her from afar every summer. But Nick is all grown up now, a college professor who gave up his career to care for his orphaned nephew, Connor. Though still vulnerable, Margaux is soon rediscovering the beauty of the shore through young Connor’s eyes . . . and, thanks to Nick, finding a forgotten place in her heart that wants to love again.

But as she continues to work on a bold new line that will get her back into the game, Margaux realizes that soon she will have to make the most important, most difficult decision of her life. . . .

Beach Colors by Shelley Noble is the perfect beach read. This book got me in the mood for summer and after finishing the book I wanted to dive into another one just like it. After finishing this book, I had to raid my bookshelf looking for another beach read because this book just put me in the mood for fun beach reads and chick lit.

The book is quite predictable (as most chick lit books are), but the characters were amazing and kept me entertained throughout. I love books that are centered on small towns because the characters end up being quirky and fun and this book definitely lives up to that expectation. I don’t think Noble could have selected a more perfect town to set her novel in than Crescent Cove, Connecticut. The descriptions of the beaches there made me crave for the beach. By the time I was done reading this book I was ready to pack my beach towel and and a book and head towards the beach. I just wished the beaches down here are as nice as the ones described in the books.

The characters in this book are what really did it for me. Every single character is unique, witty, and fun especially the landlord, Linda. She was a hoot to read about and I loved every second she was on the page. I love it when authors pay special attention to their characters and make each one stand out. I felt like even the minor characters in the book served a purpose. It was easy to fall in love with Margaux and root for her as she tried to rebuild her life from scratch with the help of her friends and family. And Noble did an amazing job showing us the difficult balance Margaux had to juggle between her career and her personal life, which included love and family.

Beach Colors is an absolute delight to read and if you’re looking for a fast and fun beach read, then I highly recommend this one.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on June 13, 2012, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great Review! It does seem perfect for the summer —I love the light, fast, and fun reads!

  2. I’ve got so much going on, predictable sounds good to me right now. The cover screams beach and makes me want to go there.

  3. Good characters can make up for just about anything. Great review.

  4. I haven’t read any summer reads yet, i’ll keep this one in mind.

  5. There is something about summer and chick lit- they just go together!

  6. The cover makes me long for my vacation right now. Everyone needs a good predictable chick lit book every now and again. Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers