Review: The Burning House

The Burning House: What Would You Take? By Foster Huntington

Publisher: It Books

Source: Publisher

If your house were on fire, what would you take? Foster Huntington has collected answers to this telling question from thousands of responders all over the world to get to the heart of what it is that people truly value. The result is The Burning House, featuring the best of Huntington’s popular website, TheBurningHouse.com along with a wealth of all-new material. Fascinating and remarkably revealing, The Burning House provides a captivating keyhole into people’s lives, feelings, and innermost thoughts that will especially appeal to the many fans of PostSecret, Not Quite What I Was Planning, Found, and Awkward Family Photos. Illustrated with sometimes moving, often unusual photographs of people’s most prized possessions; The Burning House ingeniously celebrates the differences between human beings around the globe–and the surprising similarities that unite us all.

The Burning House is a truly beautiful and wonderful book with an interesting concept—if you’re house was on fire, what would you grab. The answer actually reveals a lot about your personality along with what is important to you. Ever since I heard about this book I’ve been tossing that question out to all of my friends just to see what they would say. Of course no one will have the same answer and that’s what makes it truly fascinating and great.

The Burning House is the perfect coffee table book. It’s one of those books that you can just flip through randomly when you’re sitting on the couch. You don’t have to read the book in order and you can look at any random page. It’s filled with photographs and brief descriptions of people’s prized possessions and it’s interesting to see what people care about or why one particular object is important to them.

I definitely enjoy looking through The Burning House and I would recommend it to everyone.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on August 3, 2012, in book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve started flipping through this one and it’s actually made me wonder what I would save.

  2. Fascinating.

    I would grab the bible my father gave me as a little girl, my harddrive, and laptop. Because both devices hold my pictures.

    If I had more time I’m not sure what I would grab.

    Great review.

    I must check this one out the next time I’m in a bookstore.

  3. SOunds like a great book — never thought about what I’d grab if i was in that situation, but definitely, “the cats”.

  4. This does sound fascinating! I would have thought it would be kind of emotional but it sounds like its more interesting. For me, as long as my fiance is out the door, we good :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers