Review: The Fault in Our Stars

The-Fault-In-Our-Stars-by-John-GreenThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

Ratings: 4.5 stars

Source: Borrowed

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Do you know how sometimes you read a really great book and then you sit down to write the review and you’re completely at a loss for words. That’s how I feel about this book. I’m not even sure where to begin or how to start telling everyone how incredible this book was.

I absolutely love John Green! And The Fault in Our Stars is another beautifully written book by him. Of course after reading both Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars I have to wonder why all of his books have to be so depressing! I borrowed The Fault in Our Stars from one of my friends and in the meantime I let her borrow Looking for Alaska. When she gave me back my book, she told me she wasn’t reading another book by John Green because she was tired of reading all these depressing books.

Hopefully I haven’t scared you away from reading this book with that kind of introduction because this was really a wonderful book that I just couldn’t put down. Who would have thought a book about a bunch of teenagers with cancer would have me laughing so much? I laughed, fell in love with the characters, and cried right alongside them. It was moving and entertaining, deep yet light hearted, and just pulled me in all sorts of direction as I read it. John Green truly takes you on quite a journey as you follow Hazel around and meet an assortment of wonderful characters.

I’m sure you’ve realized by now that I’m not articulate enough to put into words how much I highly recommend everyone to read The Fault in Our Stars. So I’ll keep this review short and sweet and just say that if you haven’t read this book yet, then you should add it to your TBR pile as soon as possible. It’s one book you don’t want to miss.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on June 18, 2013, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I loved this book too! I was reading it and sobbing when my husband came home. He asked me what was wrong and laughed when I told him it was the book.

  2. Hey you! :) I’ve been missing you so I thought I would stop by your blog! How you are doing great!
    I felt the same you did when I finished reading this book, which is why I never reviewed it. But I just got it as an audiobook to reread it – maybe a different format will help me find the words!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers