New Release: Play Dead

I ran across some interesting news and it relates to Sandra Brown, which I discussed yesterday, so I thought I would share it with ya’ll. Looks like I’ve been learning a lot about Sandra Brown lately because I recently  just found out that she has a son, Ryan Brown.

Ryan was actually an actor in Guiding Light and The Young and the Restless so maybe some of ya’ll recognize him? I don’t watch soap operas so I had no idea who he was until I read about it in the weekly newsletter I’m subscribed to.

You’re probably wondering why I’m telling you all this, but I actually have a point for this post that relates to books. Anyways, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree because Ryan Brown just recently released his debut thriller novel, Play Dead, on May 4, 2010.

Here’s a synopsis of the book from Goodreads:

Ryan Brown’s compulsively readable first novel is unbeatable—a darkly humorous, rich and pungent zombie shocker that melds our national obsession with football and the newest wave of fascination with the undead.

For the first time in Killington High School history, the Jackrabbits football team is one win away from the district championship where it will face its most vicious rival, the Elmwood Heights Badgers. On the way to the game, the Jackrabbits’s bus plunges into a river, killing every player except for bad-boy quarterback Cole Logan who is certain the crash was no accident—given that Cole himself was severely injured in a brutal attack by three ski-masked men earlier that day. Bent on payback, Cole turns to a mysterious fan skilled in black magic to resurrect his teammates. But unless the undead Jackrabbits defeat their murderous rival on the field, the team is destined for hell.

In a desperate race against time, with only his coach’s clever daughter, Savannah Hickman, to assist him, Cole must lead his zombie team to victory. . . in a final showdown where the stakes aren’t just life or death—but damnation or salvation.

It sounds like it’ll be an interesting and entertaining read interlaced with some humor and fun. I haven’t read a zombie book in a really long time and I don’t really like zombie movies, but I might check out this book. Being a huge sports fanatic I have a thing for books about sports so this might be enough to make me want to read it.

If ya’ll are interested in it and want more information about it you can check out his website here.

Posted on May 13, 2010, in other and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh that does look like a good read! With that cover you can tell he has a strange sense of humor but I love Christopher Moore and his sense of humor is very unique!

    • I need to start reading some Christopher Moore books! I keep hearing his name tossed around. I always love a book that can make me laugh and everyone keeps telling me about Moore’s humor.

Leave a Reply

