Review: Names My Sisters Call Me

Names My Sisters Call Me by Megan Crane

Publisher: 5 Spot

Ratings: 

Source: Purchased

From the cover:

Courtney, Norah, and Raine Cassel are as different as three sisters can be. Norah, the oldest, is a type A obsessive who hasn’t forgiven Raine, the middle sister, for ruining her wedding day six years ago. Raine is Norah’s opposite, a wild child/performance artist/follow-your-bliss hippie chick who ran off to California. The only thing the two have in common is their ability to drive Courtney, their youngest sister, crazy.

When her longtime boyfriend proposes, Courtney decides it’s finally time to call a truce and bring the three sisters together. After all, they’re grown-ups now, right? But it turns out that family ghosts aren’t easily defeated–and neither are first loves. Soon Courtney finds herself reexamining every choice she has made in the past six years–including the man she’s about to marry–and the value of reconnecting with the sisters she knows she needs, in spite of everything.

I’ll be the first to admit that there’s something about dysfunctional families that are really attractive and fun to read about. Maybe it has to do with the fact that when I’m reading about another family’s problems, it makes me think that maybe my family is quite normal after all. That is until I realize that Courtney’s family eerily resembles my family. The more I read about her family, the more I saw the characters in the book come to life as people in my own family.

What I enjoyed most about this book was how realistic the characters and the relationships and dynamics between them are. I loved the witty banter between the characters as they argued and fought and made up. I laughed and smiled at the petty arguments the sisters got into because it reminded me so much of the little battles and bickering I got into with my cousins.

There were some parts of the book that I felt went a little slow and it dragged to the point where I just had to put the book down and do something else before picking it back up. Courtney was an easy character to relate to and it was fun following her around as she tried to figure out what she wanted in life, but at the same time, it was her relationships and interactions with the other characters that really made the book fun and entertaining for me.

Overall it was a fast, fun, and witty read. Almost like cotton candy, where it’s light and fluffy without much substance. It would make a perfect beach read especially with summer right around the corner.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on May 20, 2010, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I read this one a few years ago and enjoyed it, but it definitely didn’t light my world on fire! The characters were very realistic, though, and I always appreciate that in fiction. Though, as you said… sometimes? They’re a little too realistic!

  2. I know what you mean about reading about dysfunctional families – it makes it seem like all is right in your own world. I love the cover of this book!

Leave a Reply

