Tooth and Mail (1)

I just got back from going out of town to attend my cousins’ graduations. I went to three graduations in two days and if you included my graduation last week, I’ve probably heard around 2000 names called out over the past two weeks. I’ve definitely had my fair share of graduations and I’m glad I won’t have to attend another one until… next year when I have another cousin graduating. Don’t you just love big families? Although I do have to admit that I’m glad I’ve been able to spend so much time with my cousins and aunts and uncles. It seems like when we get older everyone is so busy that we don’t get to spend much time together besides during the holidays.

Anyways onto book related news. Tooth and Mail is just like In My Mailbox hosted by Kristi and Mailbox Monday hosted by Marcia with a little twist to the name to match my blog. It’s basically a meme that allows bloggers to share with one another the books we’ve acquired during the week.

I’m trying to cut back on buying too many books until I get my TBR pile under control. I have way too many unread books at home and until I read them I’m going to TRY really hard not to buy anymore books. With that said though, I couldn’t resist buying a couple of books at my local library.

summaries are from goodreads or covers

Purchased

Angel’s Tip by Alafair Burke

In a city full of victims . . . it’s hard to choose just one.

Fresh-faced Indiana college student Chelsea Hart is so excited to spend the final hours of her spring break in the VIP room of an elite New York City club that she remains behind when her girlfriends call it a night. The next morning, as her concerned friends anxiously pace their hotel lobby, joggers find Chelsea’s body in East River Park, her wavy blond hair brutally hacked off.

NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher catches the case and homes in on the group of privileged men who were last seen plying Chelsea with free-flowing alcohol. But before she can even gather the preliminary evidence, the gruesome murder is grabbing headlines and drawing unwanted media attention to the department. So when Ellie builds a tight case against Jake Myers, a young hedge fund manager, the department brass and the district attorney’s office are elated: the case will soon be cleared, the media will tout the department’s quick work, and Ellie will be a dream witness at the trial against Myers.

But Ellie has her doubts. Chelsea’s murder is eerily similar to three other deaths that occurred nearly a decade ago: the victims were young, female, and in each case, the killer had taken her hair as a souvenir.

Ellie’s investigation pulls her into a late-night world of exclusive clubs, conspicuous wealth, and hedonistic consumption. And her search for the truth not only pits her against her fellow cops but also places her under the watchful eye of a psychopath eager to add the prideful young female detective to his list.

Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster

Jen Lancaster was living the sweet life-until real life kicked her to the curb.

She had the perfect man, the perfect job-hell, she had the perfect life-and there was no reason to think it wouldn’t last. Or maybe there was, but Jen Lancaster was too busy being manicured, pedicured, highlighted, and generally adored to notice.

This is the smart-mouthed, soul-searching story of a woman trying to figure out what happens next when she’s gone from six figures to unemployment checks and she stops to reconsider some of the less-than-rosy attitudes and values she thought she’d never have to answer for when times were good.

Filled with caustic wit and unusual insight, it’s a rollicking read as speedy and unpredictable as the trajectory of a burst balloon.

A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby

Meet Martin, JJ, Jess, and Maureen. Four people who come together on New Year’s Eve: a former TV talk show host, a musician, a teenage girl, and a mother. Three are British, one is American. They encounter one another on the roof of Topper’s House, a London destination famous as the last stop for those ready to end their lives.

Posted on May 24, 2010, in meme, tooth and mail and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I *heart* Jen Lancaster—you will love Bitter is the new black (read it awhile ago). I want her new one but refusing to buy it till it is on Kindle and/or paperback.

  2. These all look and sound really good – especially Angel’s Tip!! Enjoy!

  3. Ooh, Bitter Is The New Black is one of my favorites! I love Lancaster’s snarky sense of humor. Her books are so fun! Three others are patiently waiting for me in my bookcase, but I haven’t found the time to read them yet. Enjoy!

  4. Enjoy the new books! My mailbox is at The Crowded Leaf.

  5. I just picked up Bitter is the New Black…hope we both enjoy it!

  6. I got a real kick out of A Long Way Down. Hope you enjoy it.

  7. another jen lancaster fan here, though her latest (my fair lazy) wasn’t quite up to snuff in my opinion. looks like you had a nice haul this week. i’m on a self-imposed moratorium–no more books until i read and listen to what i have.

  8. I have the Hornby book–I will watch for your review (although if your TBR pile is anything like mine, it could be a while)!! LOL

  9. I have the Hornby book in my TBR pile too! I need to move to my living room bookshelf so I see when I’m picking my next book…

    Looking forward to your reviews on these!

Leave a Reply

