Tooth and Mail (2)

Tooth and Mail is just like In My Mailbox hosted by Kristi and Mailbox Monday hosted by Marcia with a little twist to the name to match my blog. It’s basically a meme that allows bloggers to share with one another the books we’ve acquired during the week.

Last week I told myself that I wasn’t going to buy anymore books until I read all of the books that I already own. But then this week I found out that Half Price Books was having a sale for Memorial Day and I couldn’t resist the urge to check it out and see what they had. In my defense though, I really tried to restrain myself and only buy books that I really really wanted.

summaries from goodreads and covers

Purchased

This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

The death of Judd Foxman’s father marks the first time that the entire Foxman family-including Judd’s mother, brothers, and sister-have been together in years. Conspicuously absent: Judd’s wife, Jen, whose fourteen-month affair with Judd’s radio-shock-jock boss has recently become painfully public.

Simultaneously mourning the death of his father and the demise of his marriage, Judd joins the rest of the Foxmans as they reluctantly submit to their patriarch’s dying request: to spend the seven days following the funeral together. In the same house. Like a family.

As the week quickly spins out of control, longstanding grudges resurface, secrets are revealed, and old passions reawakened. For Judd, it’s a weeklong attempt to make sense of the mess his life has become while trying in vain not to get sucked into the regressive battles of his madly dysfunctional family. All of which would be hard enough without the bomb Jen dropped the day Judd’s father died: She’s pregnant.

I love Jonathan Tropper. He’s definitely one of my favorite authors and I passed up having a literary crush on him ages ago. Plus ya’ll know how much I love reading about dysfunctional families.

Love Walked In by Marisa De Los Santos

“When Martin Grace enters the hip Philadelphia coffee shop Cornelia Brown manages, her life changes forever. Charming and debonair, the spitting image of Cary Grant, Martin sweeps Cornelia off her feet, but, as it turns out, Martin Grace is more the harbinger of change than the change itself.”

Meanwhile, on the other side of town, eleven-year-old Clare Hobbes must learn to fend for herself after her increasingly unstable mother has a breakdown and disappears. Taking inspiration from famous orphans (Anne Shirley, Sara Crewe, Mary Lennox, and even Harry Potter) Clare musters the courage to seek out her estranged father. When the two of them show up at Cornelia’s cafe, Cornelia and Clare form a bond as unlikely as it is deep. Together, they face difficult choices and discover that knowing what you love and why is as real as life gets.

Highly recommended by one of my non book reading friend. It’s really shocking when I see her reading so when she gives me book recommendations I have to check the book out and see what actually made her read.

Bloodsucking Fiends by Christopher Moore

Jody never asked to become a vampire. But when she wakes up under an alley Dumpster with a badly burned arm, an aching back, superhuman strength, and a distinctly Nosferatuan thirst, she realizes the decision has been made for her.

Making the transition from the nine-to-five grind to an eternity of nocturnal prowlings is going to take some doing, however, and that’s where C. Thomas Flood fits in. A would-be Kerouac from Incontinence, Indiana, Tommy (to his friends) is biding his time night-clerking and frozen-turkey bowling in a San Francisco Safeway. But all that changes when a beautiful undead redhead walks through the door…and proceeds to rock Tommy’s life — and afterlife — in ways he never thought possible.

I wanted to read a Moore book and see what all the fuss was about.

Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs

Running with Scissors is the true story of a boy whose mother (a poet with delusions of Anne Sexton) gave him away to be raised by her unorthodox psychiatrist who bore a striking resemblance to Santa Claus. So at the age of twelve, Burroughs found himself amidst Victorian squalor living with the doctor’s bizarre family, and befriending a pedophile who resided in the backyard shed. The story of an outlaw childhood where rules were unheard of, and the Christmas tree stayed up all year-round, where Valium was consumed like candy, and if things got dull, an electroshock therapy machine could provide entertainment. The funny, harrowing, and bestselling account of an ordinary boy’s survival under the most extraordinary circumstances…

Yes, I’m on a crazy nonfiction/memoir/autobiography frenzy right now.

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

Juxtaposing the most common and the most gothic, the humorous and the tragic, author Jeffrey Eugenides creates a vivid and compelling portrait of youth and lost innocence. He takes us back to the elm-lined streets of suburbia in the seventies, and introduces us to the men whose lives have been forever changed by their fierce, awkward obsession with five doomed sisters: brainy Therese, fastidious Mary, ascetic Bonnie, libertine Lux, and pale, saintly Cecilia, whose spectacular demise inaugurates “the year of the suicides”. This is the debut novel that caused a sensation and won immediate acclaim from the critics — a tender, wickedly funny tale of love and terror, sex and suicide, memory and imagination.

I saw this book on sale for a buck and then I remember the review I read by Kay at Infinite Shelf and thought why not it’s only a buck.

Now’s the hard part… trying to decide which book I should read first.

Posted on May 30, 2010, in meme, tooth and mail and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I have read Bloodsucking Fiends, Running with Scissors, and The Virgin Suicides —All Great Books! You will enjoy them 🙂

    • i figured you already read bloodsucking fiends since i saw you review his other book.
      i’m glad you liked those books! it seems i’m getting better at choosing books now. hahah.

  2. Hi DW–

    I have read Love Walked In and Running With Scissors. I thought Running With Scissors with very good; odd, but good. It definitely was worth the read. I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews for Love Walked In, but I just thought it was okay. I am going to check out The Virgin Suicides. Thanks for sharing!

  3. You got some great books! This Is Where I Leave You – I loved this one – it was my first book by Tropper but def won’t be my last!

    Love Walked In is also very good – the characters are engaging! I am interested in what you think of Virgin Suicides – I haven’t read it but really enjoyed Middlesex by Eugenides.

    Enjoy your books!

    • i love Tropper so I can’t wait to get started on it!
      i’m glad you enjoyed love walked in. i think i might start on that next.
      i haven’t read middlesex yet, but i’ve heard really great things about it. i’m going to have to hunt down your review of it.
      thankss!

  4. oh, wow great list of books. Augusten Burroughs and The Virgin Suicides are great books. Enjoy!

  5. I love Moore’s books. I hope you like dark humor! fantastic book list. happy reading.

  6. I really enjoyed Love Walked In, despite it not having the greatest title. I saw Marisa de los Santos read at the D.C. National Book Festival and she was very engaging. I still haven’t gotten around to reading the book she wrote next, that is tangentially related to Love Walked In.

    • hahah. i agree with the title comment! i almost put the book back after i read the title (yes, i’ll admit it. i judge books by their covers and titles), but the storyline sounded intriguing so i thought i should at least give it a chance.

  7. I loved Jonathan Tropper’s The Book Of Joe and definitely want to get my hands on This is Where I Leave You! I once saw someone describe Tropper as “lad lit,” the opposite of “chick lit” (which I inhale), and I found that totally intriguing. I’ll be eager to hear what you think about that one!

    Love Walked In and its follow-up, Belong To Me, were both incredible. Marisa de los Santos is an exquisite author; hope she has something new out soon. Hope you enjoy!

    • i’m glad you enjoyed The Book of Joe! that’s definitely one of my favorite books.
      hahah. lad lit. i haven’t heard that before, but i like it!

      oooh i didn’t even know there was a follow up to Love Walked In, I have to add that to my wishlist! Thanks for letting me know.

  8. I have “Love Walked In” coming int he mail and I can’t wait to read it, too! I hope you’ll “enjoy” “The Virgin Suicides”, too. It was a very intense read for me and I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts!

    I’m not sure I had heard of Jonathan Tropper before, but since you like his writing so much, I’ll definitely have to check it out!

    • That’s awesome! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on that book! Thank you so much for The Virgin Suicides recommendation. I probably would of never picked it up if I didn’t see your review of it.

      You should!! I’m with Meg on this. I really loved The Book of Joe too so that’s probably a good book to start with.

Leave a Reply

