Goodbye May, Hello June

Before I get into my May recap I need to vent a little.

Honestly I think this has to be one of the worst years in sports. First we had the Indianapolis Colts versus the New Orleans Hornets in the Superbowl. I wanted to skip the Superbowl all together this year because I couldn’t see myself rooting for either team. It still makes me a little sick to think that Reggie Bush has a championship ring although I have to admit Brees played a stellar game.

Now we have the Boston Celtics versus the LA Lakers in the NBA Finals. Two more teams that I can’t stand. If Ron Artest gets a championship ring, I think I’m going to puke. On the same note, I really don’t want Boston to win either. Talk about a conundrum.

With that we go into my recap for May.

This month I read and reviewed the following books:
The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore
Irreplaceable by Stephen Lovely
Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult
Lay the Favorite by Beth Raymer
Play Dirty by Sandra Brown
The Map of True Places by Brunonia Barry
Names My Sisters Call Me by Megan Crane
Why I Fight: The Belt is Just an Accessory by BJ Penn with David Weintraub

Hopefully I’ll get more reading done during June. I’m also going to try to get my TBR under control so I’m not going to buy anymore books until I read all of the books already on my shelf.

Posted on June 1, 2010, in other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I don’t follow basketball so I have no idea who plays on either team. Though growing up that was a classic matchup Celtics vs Lakers (or Pistons). I don’t really care for the players on either the Colts or Saints but I was in New Orleans in November and what the Saints did for the city was enough for me to root for them in the Superbowl. I think it did the city some good and poured some much needed rebuilding money into the economy. My Niners are still rebuilding so it will be a few years till I see them in the bowl again. I am afraid my dad’s cowgirls will make it first…oh the horror!

    WOW-on the not buying any more books let me know how you accomplish that unless it is through sheer willpower then I am just screwed on adapting your plan of attack to my own 🙂

    Great job on the books, you had some great ones in there.

  2. I was seriously laughing out loud reading your sports vent! LOL See? Still laughing! As for your May wrap up–I am sure I have heard the, “not going to buy any more books until I am done with my TBR” before! Laughing again now!

    Hope you have a wonderful day (and month)!

    • hahah. i know i know! everyone says it, but i really do need to get my tbr pile under control. every time i bring home more books my brother just looks at me and goes “are you going to read all of that?”.

  3. I read “Names my sisters call me” a while ago, too and thought it was a nice read.
    Anyway, you had a good reading month in May! I’m curious as to how many books you have on your TBR pile; if I decided to do like you, I couldn’t buy a book for at least a year… eek!

    • hahah. yeah, i’ve seen your paper brick wall and that doesn’t even include the books you have to review! good luck with all of that!!

      as for me.. i have about 45-50 books sitting on my shelf right now that hasn’t been read yet. i probably won’t be able to buy another book until christmas. ><

      • Well, you’re courageous! Maybe you could fix a sort of compromise, like, “for every X number of books I read, I can buy a new one”. I find it easier this way than to completely stop buying them. Just a thought 🙂

      • ooh. that’s a great idea! i think i’m going to do that. going cold turkey is harder than i thought it was going to be and its only been one week!

Leave a Reply

