Bloggiesta: Starting Line

This is my first time participating in Bloggiesta so I’m not sure what my game plan is, but here’s what I’m hoping to accomplish:

  • Write reviews.
  • Write backup posts for a rainy day.
  • Work on series posts.
  • Create template posts
  • Clean up tags, archives, books reviewed list, etc.
  • Create a text file (or Google Doc) of cheat sheets (html codes, post url’s, etc)
  • Improve blog template, clean up sidebars, add a blogroll
  • Add or edit your about me page, review policy, disclosure policy, privacy policy, create landing pages (for example – an about me for Twitter readers page) or any other pages you might have.
  • Clean out and organize your feed reader and blog subscriptions.
  • Get a Twitter account?

So that’s my to do list, what’s yours?

UPDATE

11:00am-12:00pm

  • Organized google reader
  • New Layout (not sure if I’m going to keep it this way though)
  • Added blogroll

4:30pm-6:00pm

  • Fixed book review archive
  • Added amazon links/author website links to review posts
  • Created text file for review links

8:00pm-10:00pm

  • Completed mini challenge:Embracing Community from Bonjour, Cass!
  • Went through my google reader and commented on other blogs
  • Cleaned up tags
Posted on June 11, 2010, in blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Happy starting! I will be starting when I get home tonight!

  2. Wow, Duyen! You have a big list there! Good luck…..

  3. I definitely recommend getting a twitter account, lots of great interaction between bloggers there 🙂

    good luck this weekend!

  4. Good luck..I hope that you’re able to get a lot accomplished.

    http://amomentwithmystee.blogspot.com/

  5. Good Luck! While I’m not officially participating I’m going to be making some of these same changes over the weekend (hopefully).

    • thanks!
      i would definitely recommend it. i just realized how big a pain this is to maintain your blog. hopefully after this i’ll keep up with it.

  6. WOW! You are moving right along! Yep I am thinking cleaning up my reviews might take all weekend but if that is the only thing I get done it will be a HUGE accomplishment.

    Check-in a little later 🙂

    • hahah. that would be quite an accomplishment. you have a whole year and a half to do!

      i think i’m about to call it quits for today and save the rest for later. i realized that i didn’t get any writing done today…

  7. I recommend the Twitter account too! It’s a fun and quick way to keep up with the blogging world!
    Good luck with it all, you already seem to have done much work!

  8. Oh wow, you’re off to a good start toothy! Good luck getting the rest of your stuff done. You can do it, I know it!

    Let me know if you need any help with anything. I’d be glad to help out.

    Quick question, what is a series post?

  9. You’re well underway! Good luck with the rest of your to-do list 🙂

    Twitter is something you could just try out; it’s not something you can really get a feeling of if you don’t have an account and (more importantly) some people to follow. You might like it — or not 😉

  10. Good luck with the to do list! 🙂

  11. I know what you mean about not being sure of the theme. On my Connections blog (which you just visited), I changed the theme like FOUR times. Now I’m considering adding background color, but I am enjoying the bright white for now…Hmm

    Have you thought about adding a custom header, with maybe teeth and books in a vignette? Something quirky?

    That’s so much fun to do…

    I noticed others recommended Twitter account, and I definitely do. Then you could put in the icon on your sidebar and people could click to follow.

    I noticed, below this post, that Tom Perrotta has a new book, Joe College. I loved his other two, so this one’s going on my wish list.

    • I know!! I’ve changed my themes quite a few times too.

      I’m computer illiterate and I don’t even know where to begin to use photoshop and make a header, so it might stay plain like this.

      Thanks for the rec. I’m going to make one then.

      Hope you enjoy that book. I’m looking forward to reading his other books, I heard they were better than this one.

  12. wow! You are on a roll:) Great blog and I actually love the look. It is clean, simple and not cluttered:) Good luck this weekend!
    http://tilwereadagain.blogspot.com/2010/06/bloggiesta-starting-line.html
    Bobbie

Leave a Reply

