Review: Bloodsucking Fiends

Bloodsucking Fiends by Christopher Moore

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

From the cover:

Jody never asked to become a vampire. But when she wakes up under an alley Dumpster with a badly burned arm, an aching neck, superhuman strength, and a distinctly Nosferatuan thirst, she realizes the decision has been made for her.

Making the transition from the nine-to-five grind to an eternity of nocturnal prowlings is going to take some doing, however, and that’s where C. Thomas Flood fits in. A would-be Kerouac from Incontinence, Indiana, Tommy (to his friends) is biding his time night-clerking and frozen-turkey bowling in a San Francisco Safeway. But all that changes when a beautiful undead redhead walks through the door … and proceeds to rock Tommy’s life — and afterlife — in ways he never imagined possible.

Christopher Moore definitely lives up to his reputation with this book. It’s filled with dark humor and cameos from other famous vampires as well as a touch of mystery and just plain old laugh out loud fun. Moore has a very unique sense of humor, but it’s not overbearing or anything. Many times I thought the humor was quite subtle, which made it more enjoyable for me. He has a way of making very simple and ordinary situations extremely entertaining and funny.

With the recent vampire craze, I’ve been a little weary of reading books about vampires, but I ended up really enjoying this one. It’s not your typical vampire story with Jody trying to adapt to her new powers while bodies are piling up on the side and the cops on their heels. It was an intriguing, fast, and fun read.

I would recommend this book if you’re tired of the typical vampire books and you’re looking for something a little different. I’m definitely eager to get my hands on the other books in this series.

Series order

  1. Bloodsucking Fiends
  2. You Suck
  3. Bite Me

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on June 29, 2010, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. It is full of snarky goodness isn’t it? You Suck and Bite Me are even better 🙂

  2. I’ve only read his book Fluke, which was pretty good, but not amazing. By the way, I like that you include the series order with your reviews of series’ books.

    • oohh. i haven’t heard anything about fluke, but i’m going to look at it on goodreads now.

      i used to read books out of order because i never knew if they were stand alone or not. i’m glad you liked it and hopefully it helped.

  3. I just finished Eclipse this morning and it is the very first vampire book I have ever read. I do plan on starting the Sookie series pretty soon though. I haven’t read this author before, but I know he is really popular. I have added his first book to my wish list…..

  4. I love vampires but I definitely never say no to a different kind of book about them! I really should try this one 🙂 You can never say no to some dark humor!

  1. Pingback: Review: Sacre Bleu « toothy books

Leave a Reply

