Review: Forget You

Forget You by Jennifer Echols

Publisher: MTV Books

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

There’s a lot Zoey would like to forget. Like how her father has knocked up his twenty-four-year old girlfriend. Like Zoey’s fear that the whole town will find out about her mom’s nervous breakdown. Like darkly handsome bad boy Doug taunting her at school. With her life about to become a complete mess, Zoey fights back the only way she knows how, using her famous attention to detail to make sure she’s the perfect daughter, the perfect student, and the perfect girlfriend to ultra-popular football player Brandon.

But then Zoey is in a car crash, and the next day there’s one thing she can’t remember at all—the entire night before. Did she go parking with Brandon, like she planned? And if so, why does it seem like Brandon is avoiding her? And why is Doug—of all people—suddenly acting as if something significant happened between the two of them? Zoey dimly remembers Doug pulling her from the wreck, but he keeps referring to what happened that night as if it was more, and it terrifies Zoey to admit how much is a blank to her. Controlled, meticulous Zoey is quickly losing her grip on the all-important details of her life—a life that seems strangely empty of Brandon, and strangely full of Doug.

Forget You was one of those books that I liked more and more after I finished reading it. Initially, I thought it was just okay, an average book without anything spectacular or new to offer to the table. But I’m glad I waited to write this review because as I’m thinking back on the book I realized that I enjoyed it more than I initially thought.

It wasn’t a perfect book though and there were a few things that really irked me as well as a few things that I really loved about. And since I’m one of those people who love hearing bad news before good news, I’ll tell you what I hate about it before going into what I loved about it.

First up, Zoey, our protagonist and the person we’re supposed to be rooting for and sympathizing with. Now I wouldn’t mind rooting for her all if she wasn’t, how do I put this in a nice way, an idiot. And I get it, she has a lot going on in her life and I’m willing to give her the benefit of the doubt and everything, but sometimes she was just too dense and thickheaded for me. Every time she said “Brandon is my boyfriend” I wanted to smack her. Actually, I’m quite surprised that Doug didn’t smack her for me and let her know that homeboy over there was cheating on her. On the other hand, Zoey wasn’t a complete failure of a character. What Echols did really well was capturing the attitude and response of a teenager faced with challenges. Zoey reacted in a way that most teenagers would after realizing that her world was falling apart. She attempted to rebel and did what she wouldn’t normally do thinking that her life would return to normal by doing so.

The other thing I didn’t completely love about this book was the parents. I read somewhere that one of the things that are missing in young adult books is normal adults. Both Zoey and Doug had absolutely horrific and terrible fathers that could have used a good smacking too. A part of me thought it was intentional to give them terrible fathers so that they would have some common ground and realize how perfect they are together, but the other part of me thought that was unnecessary. It would have been nice to see a normal parent and a good role model in the book, but that’s just me.

So what did I actually like about the book? Well, Doug of course. He was absolutely swoon-worthy. He’s the complex character that I love reading about. He has a brooding and tough exterior, but deep down inside, he’s a big softie. He was patient and kind and the anchor Zoey needed to put herself back on track and regain her memory. Speaking of memory loss, the mystery surrounding the night of the accident kept me intrigued enough to keep flipping the pages to find out what really happened that night. I had a few guesses, but I still wanted to know what happened and Zoey’s reactions to it after she found out.

Another aspect I loved about the book was the character development and the growth that Zoey and Doug went through. It was the kind of development that took time to build and didn’t happen overnight, which I appreciated. At the same time, Echols was able to keep the plot moving with a steady pace and I never felt the plot slow or drag to show the growth.

Forget You was a quick and entertaining a read; it’s the perfect summer book.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on July 22, 2010, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I am glad you enjoyed it! I am going to recommend it to my sister, she loves these kinds of books:)

  2. YA books seem to feature absent or lousy parents a lot, but I think the kids who have parents like that really need books in their lives that they can relate to. Great review!

  3. Nice review, DW. I probably won’t read this though–I am not a big YA fan…..

  4. I like when books have a little mystery going on — keeps me wanting to continue and discover everything! This sounds like a novel I would enjoy, especially with a swoon-worthy male lead.

  5. Yeah, the whole Brandon thing got on my LAST NERVE, definitely kept me from liking the book as much as I wanted to.

  6. This sounds pretty good. I am just starting to read more YA so I may have to check this one out!

Leave a Reply

