Tooth and Mail (3)

Tooth and Mail is just like In My Mailbox hosted by Kristi and Mailbox Monday hosted by Marcia with a little twist to the name to match my blog. It’s basically a meme that allows bloggers to share with one another the books we’ve acquired during the week.

It’s been awhile since I last made one of these posts. I’ve been busy trying to get my TBR down to a more manageable number and while I was able to put a small dent into it, I realized that it’s probably impossible for me to read all of the books I have on my shelf.

I couldn’t resist going to a bookstore with my cousin last week so I did manage to get a few books.

Summaries are from goodreads/the covers

One Day by David Nicholls

Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. So where will they be on this one day next year? And the year after that? And every year that follows? Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY.

I’m super excited to get this book and it’s probably going to be the next book I read.

The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen

After almost fifty years as a wife and mother, Enid Lambert is ready to have some fun. Unfortunately, her husband, Alfred, is losing his sanity to Parkinson’s disease, and their children have long since flown the family nest to the catastrophes of their own lives. The oldest, Gary, a once-stable portfolio manager and family man, is trying to convince his wife and himself, despite clear signs to the contrary, that he is not clinically depressed. The middle child, Chip, has lost his seemingly secure academic job and is failing spectacularly at his new line of work. And Denise, the youngest, has escaped a disastrous marriage only to pour her youth and beauty down the drain of an affair with a married man — or so her mother fears. Desperate for some pleasure to look forward to, Enid has set her heart on an elusive goal: bringing her family together for one last Christmas at home.

I’m not exactly sure what possessed me at the time to buy this book other than the fact that it was only a buck. When people were telling me I should read The Corrections I had no idea how huge the book would be. I was a little more than just intimidated by the size of the book and I probably won’t get to it until Christmas break.

Nobody’s Fool by Richard Russo

Richard Russo’s slyly funny and moving new novel follows the unexpected operation of grace in a deadbeat town in upstate New York — and in the life of one of its unluckiest citizens, Sully, who has been doing the wrong thing triumphantly for fifty years.

Divorced from his own wife and carrying on halfheartedly with another man’s, saddled with a bum knee and friends who make enemies redundant, Sully now has one new problem to cope with: a long-estranged son who is in imminent danger of following in his father’s footsteps. With its sly and uproarious humor and a heart that embraces humanity’s follies as well as its triumphs, Nobody’s Fool is storytelling at its most generous.

I haven’t read anything by Russo before, but he came highly recommended so I figure I would give one of his books a shot.

Posted on July 25, 2010, in meme, tooth and mail and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Nice additions to your TBR shelves. Hope you have a great week, DW!

  2. I hope you enjoy them all 🙂

  3. Russo is one of my favorite authors (I especially love his earlier books).

  4. Enjoy your books. Just one for me this week called Gerry Tales.

  5. That’s funny – I just took the corrections off the shelf to bring it on an upcoming vacation. I plan to read it while away!

    I like Russo but haven’t read Nobody’s Fool yet – I look forward to the review!

  6. I got One Day too. It sounds good so hope we enjoy it. Have a wonderful week and happy reading!

  7. All of your books look good! I won One Day so should be getting it soon. I’ve never read Richard Russo’s work, but want to give it a try.

  8. Looking good! I’m especially interested in your thoughts on the Russo book when you get around to it. I’ve only read Empire Falls myself, but I had some issues with that book. Would love to read Straight Man or some of his other stuff one day.

  9. I got One Day a week or so ago and can’t wait to read it. The Franzen book is one I’ve wanted as well. Happy reading! My mailbox is at The Crowded Leaf.

  10. Nice mailbox! I’ve heard good things about One Day. I didn’t get a chance to do up a mailbox this week, but I do have a Reading Recap and a Giveaway if you’d like to stop by!

  11. The Richard Russo book looks intriguing…I’ll be watching for your review.

    One Day also caught my eye…again, waiting.

    I did read The Corrections awhile ago, and it was good. I keep remembering all that furor with Oprah, though; luckily, I enjoyed it anyway.

    Have a great week.

    Here’s my MM:

    http://laurelrainsnowcreations.blogspot.com/2010/07/mailbox-monday-july-26.html

  12. I got One Day too! Doesn’t it look good? Enjoy!

  13. I have One Day in my huge TBR pile…I hope it’s good!

  14. “Tooth and Mail” is a great title for these posts! (I’m new to your blog, obviously.) Enjoy your books!

  15. The Russo book looks interesting. I have two of his on my TBR but haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. I’ve heard nothing but good things about his work too 🙂

Leave a Reply

