The Start of a New Chapter

Today’s the first day of school for me and quite honestly, I’m freaked out. Sure, I’ve gone through plenty of first days before, but this time it feels different. Maybe it’s because I don’t have my older brother giving me advice or maybe it’s because it’s the first day of dental school and I don’t know what to expect. Orientation was supposed to prepare me for today, but instead, it only made me more nervous and now I’m feeling a little overwhelmed. I’ll admit I’m feeling a bit of excitement too, but the panic, fear, and anxiety is starting to kick in.

I still feel like I’m a kid. I feel like I’m not ready to go to dental school yet. I’m still learning and growing and trying to figure out what makes me tick and what makes me happy. I’m envious of those who know exactly what they want to do and they go out and do it. For me though, I’m quite indecisive and honestly, I’m not sure if this is the right decision or not. It’s way too late to have cold feet, but that doesn’t change the fact that there’s a small voice in my head that constantly ask me if I’m doing the right thing. I guess I’ll find out in four years if this small step I’m taking today was the right thing to do or not. I’m sure everyone has doubts about their career choice right? Tell me I’m not alone in this.

Besides fretting about the new chapter in my life, I also wanted to take this time to just say THANK YOU to everyone! My friends are always asking me for book recommendations, but I quickly realized I didn’t have the best memory. I couldn’t remember details about books or why I liked them. This blog started as a personal journal for me to record my thoughts about books so I can remember them later, but it turned into something so much more than that. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that there are people out there who actually read my blog! So to all my readers, thank you so much for making this book blogging experience that much better.

I should probably give y’all a warning and let you know that I probably won’t be as active anymore due to dental school. You may have already noticed my lack of updates ever since orientation started last Wednesday. I’m not exactly sure how dental school will affect my reading and reviewing, but I don’t want to officially put my blog on hiatus or anything like that. I love reading books and I love reading everyone’s blogs too much to do that. Hopefully after a few weeks of dental school I’ll be settled into the new routine and will be able to resume reading and reviewing, but who knows. I’ve reorganized my google reader so  hopefully (fingers crossed) I’ll be able to visit everyone’s blog and continue commenting. But for now, I’m taking it one step at a time and I’ll figure things out as I move along.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in dental school, other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Good Luck! I start back to school after 20 years off on the 23rd. I am scared/excited and still have no idea what I am going to major in–luckily since I am only 2 to 3 classes a semester I have some time to decide. For me, I am just going to let my blog be as it is…will probably be updated less but that is ok. Life is like that 🙂 Keep us up to date on how school is going and I will be pulling for you!

  2. You should be so proud of yourself, DW! Everyone has nerves and questions their decisions when it is a major one like school, career, family, etc. You will be fine. Just take a deep breath and remember that in order to even make it this far you had to be an excellent student. Being accepted to dental school is a major accomplishment! You will get into the swing of things once you have your routine down. You can do it!!!!

  3. Congratulations and best of luck with dental school! I hope that you love it and that you work out a great routine that still gives you some time to read 🙂

  4. I think a lot of people feel that way when they start a new endeavor. I am confident that things will go well for you and you’ll be the best dentist yet!

  5. Best of luck – I am sure you will do great!

  6. Best wishes as you start this exciting/nerve-wracking time! I’m sure nearly everyone has those moments of “Oh my God, what am I doing?” when it comes to career and life decisions… even though I’ve always wanted to be a writer/editor, I’ve still been there, too. Hang in there and be gentle with yourself — you’ll be great!

  7. Good luck with dental school! So exciting!

  8. Oh darling, best of luck. I know you will do amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

