Finally! It’s about time.

It feels like I’ve been waiting for this moment for a really long time, but it’s finally here. The start of a new football season.

I don’t know what it is about football that makes me love it so much. Is it watching the quarterback get sacked? Or is it the interceptions and fumbles that make me hold my breath until the referees break up the pile. Maybe it’s the ridiculous catch made by the wide receiver that gets my blood running? Or it could even be the punt return that leads to a touchdown. Regardless of the reason, I love it and I’ve been dying to see some real football in action.

I love this moment. The moment before the season starts. The moment where everyone sits at 0-0.* The moment filled with hope and expectations. A new season, a fresh start, a clean slate. It’s a chance for redemption; a chance for missed opportunities. Full of endless possibilities.

So here’s to a new season.

Calling all football fans. Let me here it! Who are you rooting for and what games are you looking forward to watching this weekend?

Personally, I’m a native Houstonian, born and raised in Houston so of course I’m rooting for the TEXANS.

*Okay, so not everyone is at 0-0. Vikings played at New Orleans on Thursday to kick off the season, but for the purposes of this post, just bear with me and pretend everyone is at 0-0. 🙂

Posted on September 11, 2010, in football, other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I’m a Broncos fan and a Vikings Fan. The Vikings of course already lost this week, but I still have the Broncos. Woo Hoo!

    • awww. i was rooting for the vikings on thursday too. i wouldn’t say i’m a fan of the vikings, but between them and the saints i think they’re the lesser of two evils.

  2. I am a fan only of the teams my son’s play on! Of course, my hubby grew up in Oakland, so he is a Raiders fan…..

    • i thought since you live in washington you would be a seahawks fan! the seahawks are my adopted nfc team to cheer for. it would be amazing if somehow the texans and seahawks ended up in the superbowl together.

  3. I was excited about football season until it started. My team is 0 and 2. 😦

  4. I guess the Rams, because I live in St. Louis, but it’s hard to be a fan when your team always loses. I’m getting ready to watch their first game in a few minutes. And yes I watch even though they always lose 🙂 I’m a fan no matter what.

    I love football (okay, all sports, as you know). It doesn’t matter if it’s high school, college or NFL. Woot woot! Go team.

    • trust me when i say i know exactly how you feel! i’ve shed a lot of tears because of the texans, but they still get me excited every sunday and i love watching them play. i love die hard fans! it’s way better supporting a team that you’re passionate about even if they lose than be a band wagoner and switch around and only support teams that win.

      hahah. i love sports too! i can’t get enough of it! 😀

  5. Glad I’m not the only football fan with a book blog !! Of the pro teams, Seattle and Oakland are my favs. Mainly I’m a college fan. Right now I’m happy ’cause my favorite team the U of O Ducks did a number on Tennessee last night !

    • i love seattle too! and i’m pretty impressed by what they did to the niners yesterday. 😀

      i love college football too! and my college football team is doing quite well this season so i’m stoked! it’s crazy that you mention that because i actually saw a bit of oregon vs tennessee game although i have to say, i was rooting for tennessee because they’re the underdog.

  6. Love, love, love the start of football season! I got to watch the Vikings/Saints game on Thursday, but missed most of Sunday until the end of the Redskins/Cowboys game. But man, what an ending to a game – totally worth missing the other games.

    • me tooo!! hahah. that ending was absolutely insane! i’m so happy to see the cowboys lose! it made my day. i love it when football ends on a good note. it makes monday so much more bearable.

Leave a Reply

