Audio Book Review: Private

Private by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

AUDIO BOOK REVIEW

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Total Playing Time: 7 hours

Read by Peter Hermann

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

The police can’t help you

Former CIA agent Jack Morgan runs Private, a renowned investigation company with branches around the globe. It is where you go when you need maximum force and maximum discretion. The secrets of the most influential men and women on the planet come to Jack daily—and his staff of investigators use the world’s most advanced forensic tools to make and break their cases.

The press will destroy you

Jack is already deep into the investigation of a multimillion-dollar NFL gambling scandal and the unsolved slayings of eighteen schoolgirls when he learns of a horrific murder close to home: his best friend’s wife, Jack’s former lover, has been killed. It nearly pushes him over the edge. Instead, Jack pushes back and devotes all of Private’s resources to tracking down her killer.

Only one place to turn: Private

But Jack doesn’t have to play by the rules. As he closes in on the killer and chooses between revenge and justice, Jack has to navigate a workplace love affair that threatens to blow the roof off his plans.

Quick disclosure before I get into reviewing the book. I haven’t listened to an audio book in about 15 years so this is a little new to me.

Private, albeit being a suspenseful and exciting book, was a little too complex as an audio book because of the various cases being investigated as well as the number of characters. My mind has a tendency to wander while I’m driving so there were times where I had to hit the repeat button because I would completely miss out on a scene or a chapter. Besides that one minor issue, my experience with audio books was pretty enjoyable and I’m looking forward to trying out another one; one that is less intense.

Private is the typical suspenseful and entertaining book you would expect from James Patterson. Each chapter ended leaving you wanting more and I found myself staying in my car longer than necessary just to listen to what happens next.

Jack Morgan takes over Private after his father’s death and throughout the book the team at Private is working on three separate cases: (1) the death of his best friend’s wife, Shelby, (2) the serial killing of teenage school girls, and (3) the fixing of NFL games. Each case was interesting and suspenseful in its own way and I found myself drawn to each one for different reasons. Although I have to say, every time I felt a connection to one of the cases, the storyline would switch to another case. It almost made want to skip chapters and read ahead to see the next development in that case. But that’s because I’m an impatient reader.

My only issue with the book was that it wasn’t as thrilling as I hoped it would be. The resolutions for the cases were quite straightforward without any twists incorporated into them. Other than that, I would definitely recommend the book to mystery and James Patterson fans.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on September 13, 2010, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hear you on the audiobook (get it? LOL)…..

    Anyway, that is precisely why I don’t listen to audiobooks–it is too hard for me to get into the story. I can’t fully absorb what is happening when I am busy doing other things (driving, exercising, cleaning, etc.).

  2. I thought there were too many cases going on in this one and the book would have been better if at least one (maybe the NFL case) had been left out.

Leave a Reply

