Sometimes Being a Fan is Hard

Case Keenum (Photo by Tim Heitman/US Presswire)

I learned a pretty important lesson last week. You see, I’m naive and I’m an optimist. I hold onto hope even when things look impossible. Last weekend though, I realized all good things come to an end.

I was ecstatic, stoked even, as I prepared to watched the University of Houston take on UCLA. I’m an alumni of the University of Houston and the Cougars were entering that game 2-0. This was supposed to be our season, our chance, an opportunity to become Conference USA Champions. And within seconds, everything disintegrated right before my eyes. Now I’m left feeling empty and lost, even a little confused. More than anything else, I want to just wake up and realize this was all a dream nightmare. Can someone turn back time for me?

You see, Case Keenum, our star quarterback, a Heismann trophy candidate, a record breaking machine, the nation’s leading passer, and the person that carried our hopes and dreams was injured in that game. Except it wasn’t just any injury, it was a season ending injury–a torn ACL. I know what a lot of people are thinking, ‘well, there’s always next year.’ But that’s the thing. There isn’t a next year. At least not for Keenum. He’s a senior this year and a few hours away from graduating. That’s where things get a little muddy. He has the option of petitioning to be medical redshirted, but will he do that? He could have entered the NFL draft last year if he wanted to, but he didn’t. Would he spend another year playing at UH to prove that he can bounce back from his injury or would he take his chances with the draft? I honestly have no idea what he’s going to do. I don’t know what I would do if I was in that position. I wish for the best for him because he more than anyone else deserves it. I know this is just a small road path in his journey towards pursuing his dreams and his goals and that he’ll bounce back and become even better.

It saddens me to think that I won’t see him throw another football with the word ‘HOUSTON’ written across his jersey. It brings tears to my eyes when I think about the potential and expectations he must of had for himself this year and falling short of that. I can’t believe I won’t see him throw another pass to Patrick Edwards in the end zone or connect with Tyron Carrier for a ridiculous amount of yards. Case Keenum is one of those rare players that bring so much fun and passion to the game. Sometimes you forget how exciting football can be and then you watch him play and you remember why you love the game so much. I dare you to watch a game with him in it and not feel the intensity and the energy coming from him.

Cotton Turner (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)

Unfortunately our troubles didn’t end with Case Keenum’s injury. After Keenum left in the second quarter, Cotton Turner, our backup quarterback stepped in for him. Turner is a decent quarterback and although he’s not as explosive as Keenum, he knows the offense and the system well. During the third quarter of the game however, he was hit hard which resulted in a broken collar bone–a season ending injury. And before I could even begin to grasp what happened to Keenum, the Cougars had another player down on the field. I couldn’t breathe. The room was absolutely silent and right then and there the whole season just flashed before my eyes. Now we’re forced to use our freshmen quarterbacks who should of been redshirted this season.

A lot of people are counting us out now because our two shooters are out of the game. And to that I say our shooters may change, but we still have the same weapons out there, the same players, the same heart,  the same passion, and the same drive. I know we can make it to the conference championship game. Because despite everything,  I’m still naive, I’m still an optimist, I still believe in them, and I’ll always be a fan. GO COOGS!

HOUSTON VS TULANE TODAY AT 2:30 CT.

Posted on September 25, 2010, in football, other and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Ugh! That sucks for your team, DW–but don’t give up! You never know what can happen……

    • true true! thanks for your kind words! i’m hoping case keenum can jump back from this. i’m more worried about his future than i am about our team this season.

  2. I feel your pain. Our Hokies have had a horrible start to their season.

    • aww. sorry to hear that! i did catch part of their game against boston college though and they looked outstanding out there! so i think they’ve jumped back from their slow start.

  3. I am a casual football fan but find it SO much more interesting when you can get behind a team – I am sorry your team is off to a rough start!

    • i completely agree! you should find a team to stand behind. it’s way better when you’re really passionate about a team. it’s so exciting and fulfilling when they win but on the down side you’re heartbroken when they lose. that’s like everything in life though. you give some and you take some.

Leave a Reply

