Review: I’d Know You Anywhere

I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman

Publisher: William Morrow

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

Eliza Benedict cherishes her peaceful, ordinary suburban life with her successful husband and children, thirteen-year-old Iso and eight-year-old Albie. But her tranquillity is shattered when she receives a letter from the last person she ever expects—or wants—to hear from: Walter Bowman.

“There was your photo, in a magazine. Of course, you are older now. Still, I’d know you anywhere.”

In the summer of 1985, when she was fifteen, Eliza was kidnapped by Walter and held hostage for almost six weeks. Now on death row in Virginia for the rape and murder of his final victim, Walter seems to be making a heartfelt act of contrition as his execution nears. Desperate to shelter her children from this undisclosed trauma in her past, she cautiously makes contact with Walter. She’s always wondered why Walter let her live, and perhaps now he’ll tell her—and share the truth about his other victims.

Yet as Walter presses her for more and deeper contact, it becomes clear that he is after something greater than forgiveness. He wants Eliza to remember what really happened that long-ago summer. He wants her to save his life. And Eliza, who has worked hard for her comfortable, cocooned life, will do anything to protect it—even if it means finally facing the events of that horrifying summer and the terrible truth she’s kept buried inside.

I haven’t read anything by Laura Lippman before reading this book, but I’ve heard some great things about her writing and I always wanted to try one of her books.

I’d Know You Anywhere is a psychological thriller that grabs your attention from the beginning and doesn’t let go until the end. From the first page I was interested in Eliza’s past and present. I wanted to know what she experienced in the past that made her become the person she is in the present. The mystery surrounding the reason as to why Walter let her live also carried the plot and allowed it to move along.

The first part of the book alternates between present day Eliza, who receives a letter from her kidnapper, Walter, and the past in which she is kidnapped. Lippman reveals just enough details about the kidnapping to give the readers a bit of background information as well as keep them intrigued to keep reading the book.

One of the things I really liked about this book was the different views. It gave the readers a perspective of the feelings and emotions that the victim and their family go through as well as the criminal’s. In addition to Eliza’s view, the readers also followed Walter’s thoughts and the thoughts of the mother of one of the murdered girls. The various views allowed the readers to see how that one event affected the different characters and how much their lives have changed because of that one event.
I don’t want to give too much away, but I’d Know You Anywhere was one of those books that made me paranoid and wary of strangers as well as kept me on my toes with its many twists and turns. It’s an excellent book and I’m looking forward to reading some other books by Lippman.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on October 7, 2010, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am going to have to give Lippman another chance. The first book I read by her, I didn’t really care for. But you have posted a great review for this one. Thanks for sharing, DW!

  2. I’ve been seeing this book around and it’s getting high marks. For some reason I still don’t know if it’s my cup of tea…

  3. I love Lippman’s work and can’t wait to read this one. I’m glad to see it’s so good.

  4. I really liked this book….

    I reviewed it on my blog as well if you want to see what I wrote.

    http//silversolara.blogspot.com

  5. Considering I’m such a naturally paranoid person, I have a feeling this one would really keep me up at night! The premise is intriguing, though, and I’ve heard great things about Lippman.

Leave a Reply

