New Release: Remarkable Creatures

REMARKABLE CREATURES by TRACY CHEVALIER

Publisher: Plume

Released Date: October 26, 2010

From the cover:

From the moment she’s struck by lightning as a baby, it is clear Mary Anning is different. Though poor and uneducated, she learns on the windswept, fossil-strewn beaches of the English coast that she has a unique gift: “the eye” to spot fossils no one else can see. When she uncovers an unusual fossilized skeleton in the cliffs near her home, she sets the religious community on edge, the townspeople to gossip — and the scientific world alight with both admiration and controversy. Prickly Elizabeth Philpot, a middle-class spinster and also a fossil hunter, becomes Mary Anning’s unlikely champion and friend, and together they forge a path to some of the most important discoveries of the nineteenth century.

I’ve heard great things about Chevalier’s Girl with a Pearl Earring so I’m curious to see how this book turned out. I have Girl with a Pearl Earring sitting on my book shelf and I almost forgot about it until I saw her latest book being released in paperback form. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but I’m hoping to get to it soon. Looks like my Christmas reading list is packed, which is great because I can’t wait for the semester to end so I can just relax and read books that I enjoy! (seven more weeks until the semester ends!)

Posted on October 26, 2010, in other. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’ve heard this book is fabulous. It’s on my shelves, but I haven’t read it yet.

  2. I haven’t read this author before. I will check her out on Goodreads….

  3. This is the release of the paperback edition, right? How’d I get so smart…that’s what you’re thinking, I know. lol

    I either read this and didn’t like it or wasn’t even able to finish. I can’t remember. But I know everyone else loved it, so don’t mind me 🙂 I don’t have an imagination and couldn’t get into the premise of the whole thing. I’m probably the only one…

  4. I’ve heard great things about this one as well. It’s on my wishlist.

  5. Everything I’ve heard about this one is positive – I bet you’ll love it!

  6. i’ve listened to a few by this author and have liked them well enough. i think i remember liking ‘the virgin blue’ more than ‘the girl with the pearl earring’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

