Review: Plum Island

Plum Island by Nelson DeMille

Publisher: Warner Books

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

From goodreads:

Convalescing from a bullet wound on Long Island, NYPD homicide detective John Corey helps the local sheriff investigate a shooting. The victims are a married couple, both biologists on Plum Island, a top secret animal disease research site. When the media suggests that they stole a deadly virus, suddenly a local murder becomes a crime with worldwide implications in this masterwork of entrancing characters, a killer plot, and brilliant comic touches.

A few months ago I found a copy of Night Fall by Nelson DeMille at a library book sale and decided to purchase it, not knowing anything about DeMille or the book. Once I got home, I realized that it was part of a series and I hate reading books out of order so I knew I had to get the other books before starting that one. I finally got around to buying the other books and reading the first one in the series.

My feelings about Plum Island kept changing the more I read it. I felt this book could have easily been about a hundred maybe even two hundred pages shorter. (It’s sitting at a little over 500 pages so it’s quite a massive book). Personally, it was extremely difficult for me to get through the beginning of the book and I felt like I had to force myself to read it. There was definitely a lot of extra information included in the book that I could care less about and the tour of Plum Island was written in excruciating detail. I’m not a book cheater and I normally only read one book at a time, but I had to put this book down and pick up another book to read.

That said, however, I actually enjoyed the book a ton after John Corey got off the island and started his investigation. I’m a huge fan of mystery books and I love the investigation, collecting clues, looking for evidence, and putting the puzzle together. Once the book took a turn in that direction and moved away from pure monotonous detail, I enjoyed the book a lot more and found the case quite interesting. I also found myself liking Corey a lot as a character. He’s rough around the edges, and probably too sarcastic for his own good, but there’s something about him that just works.

I have the next few books in the series sitting on my shelf and I definitely want to read them, but I don’t know if those books will be like this one. I was having this discussion with one of my friends the other day about if it was worth it to read through 200 pages of boring stuff just to get to the good stuff. I don’t know. I want to see how the series continues, but I’ll probably put it off until Christmas when I have more time to read.

Series Order

1.      Plum Island

2.      The Lion’s Game

3.      Night Fall

4.      Wild Fire

5.      The Lion

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on November 19, 2010, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m listening to The Island right now. John Corey is the type of character I would hate if I knew him in real life, so I can’t figure out why I like him so much!

  2. I always feel torn about these books that take so LONG to get into and then start jiving halfway through .. it’s like, “Do I rate it based on the fact that I almost didn’t keep reading it or do I rate it on the fact that once I pushed myself to keep reading it, I finally started to like it?”

    Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

