Review: The Love Goddess’ Cooking School

The Love Goddess’ Cooking School by Melissa Senate

Publisher: Gallery Books

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From cover:

Holly Maguire’s grandmother Camilla was the Love Goddess of Blue Crab Island, Maine—a Milanese fortune-teller who could predict the right man for you, and whose Italian cooking was rumored to save marriages. Holly has been waiting years for her unlikely fortune: her true love will like sa cordula, an unappetizing old-world delicacy. But Holly can’t make a decent marinara sauce, let alone sa cordula. Maybe that’s why the man she hopes to marry breaks her heart. So when Holly inherits Camilla’s Cucinotta, she’s determined to forget about fortunes and love and become an Italian cooking teacher worthy of her grandmother’s legacy.

But Holly’s four students are seeking much more than how to make Camilla’s chicken alla Milanese. Simon, a single father, hopes to cook his way back into his daughter’s heart. Juliet, Holly’s childhood friend, hides a painful secret. Tamara, a serial dater, can’t find the love she longs for. And twelve-year-old Mia thinks learning to cook will stop her dad, Liam, from marrying his phony lasagna-queen girlfriend.

As the class gathers each week, adding Camilla’s essential ingredients of wishes and memories in every pot and pan, unexpected friendships and romances are formed—and tested. Especially when Holly falls hard for Liam . . . and learns a thing or two about finding her own recipe for happiness.

I’ve been in a bit of a chick lit mood lately and The Love Goddess’ Cooking School was exactly what I needed. I haven’t read anything by Melissa Senate before, but I have a friend that’s always telling me I need to try her books. I just never got around to it until now and I’m kicking myself in the butt a bit for waiting so long to read one of her books.

In the opening chapters of the book, Holly finds herself with a broken heart, without a job, and homeless after being kicked out by her roommate. Having nowhere else to go, Holly decides to return to the one place that’s always felt like home for her, Blue Crab Island, Maine.

While Holly tries to hold the fort down and keep Camilla’s Cucinotta running by learning the recipes her grandmother left behind and teaching cooking classes, she figures out what she wants out of life and where she truly belongs. The character development in the book was excellent and I love the transformation all of the characters went through. It was almost shocking to see how much the characters grew up and changed from the beginning. As the characters revealed their personal memories and secret wishes to one another during the cooking lessons, I found myself connecting to the characters and becoming more invested in their story. It was easy to fall in love with all of the characters as they discussed friends, family, love, life, and food.

The Love Goddess’ Cooking School was one of those books that just simply made me smile when I turned the last page and I honestly couldn’t ask for more from a book. I have to say, a good chick lit book just makes me want to read another one.

I can’t wait to read another book by Melissa Senate. Have you read any books by her and if so which ones would you recommend?

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on November 24, 2010, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. That sounds like an awesome book! I had never heard of it at all!

  2. Nice review, DW. I haven’t read Melissa Senate before either. I think I have one of her books on my TBR shelf though. Thanks for sharing….

  3. I haven’t read anything by Melissa Senate yet, but I love cooking so I’ll keep this book in mind for when I’m in a chick lit mood. Thanks for the review!

  4. I love books like this, that incorporate cooking. This is one that I’ve really wanted to read so I am happy to hear that it’s a winner!

  5. Everything about this sounds good – food and a book just go hand in hand. I love that it made you smile.

  6. OOoo The Secret of Joy!

    I realllly liked it 🙂

    Great review btw.

    I just LOVE this cover.

  7. darn! i passed this one by and am now regretting it. glad you enjoyed it and i hope to come across it again in my travels to book shops this holiday season. 🙂 hope you had a nice turkey day.

Leave a Reply

