Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Publisher: Vintage

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

From cover:

A spellbinding amalgam of murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue.

It’s about the disappearance forty years ago of Harriet Vanger, a young scion of one of the wealthiest families in Sweden . . . and about her octogenarian uncle, determined to know the truth about what he believes was her murder.

It’s about Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist recently at the wrong end of a libel case, hired to get to the bottom of Harriet’s disappearance . . . and about Lisbeth Salander, a twenty-four-year-old pierced and tattooed genius hacker possessed of the hard-earned wisdom of someone twice her age—and a terrifying capacity for ruthlessness to go with it—who assists Blomkvist with the investigation. This unlikely team discovers a vein of nearly unfathomable iniquity running through the Vanger family, astonishing corruption in the highest echelons of Swedish industrialism—and an unexpected connection between themselves.

It’s a contagiously exciting, stunningly intelligent novel about society at its most hidden, and about the intimate lives of a brilliantly realized cast of characters, all of them forced to face the darker aspects of their world and of their own lives.

I finally understand why everyone has been raving over the Millennium series and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I’m sure everyone has heard about this book. It’s been all over the blogging community. You couldn’t walk into a bookstore without seeing a copy of this book. And then the casting rumors started for the movie version of this book. I finally broke down under the pressure and purchased this book a few months ago, but I never felt compelled to read it. It sat on my shelf for months and I kept passing it up for other books. After seeing one of my friends read it though, I remembered I had a copy of it and decided that I just needed to sit down and finally read it.

Once I started the book I couldn’t stop reading it and I was surprised by how fast I was able to get through it. I love police procedural books and this is probably one of the best I’ve read. The story follows Mikael as he tries to solve the family mystery and Larsson goes into extreme detail with the investigation and gathering of evidence, which I love. Some may think the book dragged a bit because the book is quite detailed especially when the background is being set up, but I didn’t feel the plot slowed down any by the details. There are many layers to the book and each one is unfolded to the readers slowly, so just a word of warning, you’ll have to be patient to enjoy it.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is an intense and suspenseful book and is probably not for everyone. Be prepared to read some grueling stuff in this book if you do decide to pick it up. The original title of this book was ‘Men Who Hate Women’ and that is a much more fitting title for the book than the one they changed it too. If you’re looking for something light and fluffy, pass on this book, but if you’re looking for a dark and thrilling read, then you might want to pick this one up. I’m excited to read the other two books in the series and compare it to the movies. I believe the Swedish version of the movies is already out and the American version is to be released next year.

Series order:

1.      The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

2.      The Girl Who Played with Fire

3.      The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on December 17, 2010, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I’ve had this one for a while, but I’m kind of waiting for all the buzz to die down before I tackled it. I’m glad to see you enjoyed it so much.

  2. Oh yeah this book has definitely been able to maintain it’s buzz for awhile so I’m glad you liked it!This summer I went to the beach and I swear I was the only person not reading a book from this series 🙂

    • Hahah. That’s how I felt!! Everyone at my school was talking about the series so I felt like I had to read it so I can understand what they’re talking about.

  3. This one is on my shelf, just waiting to be read. Great review! Thanks for sharing, DW…..

  4. I’m very curious about this one. Great review and thank you so much for stopping by my blog with your kind words 🙂

  5. I’m still on the fence, but I’ve heard so many good things about these books. Glad you enjoyed it.

  1. Pingback: Review: The Informationist « toothy books

Leave a Reply

