Review: Salting Roses

Salting Roses by Lorelle Marinello

Publisher: Avon A

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From cover:

A young woman abandoned as an infant on an Alabama porch is horrified to discover that she is the missing heiress to a vast Connecticut fortune—a birthright she is desperate to reject in favor of her Peachtree Lane roots.

Gracie Lynne Calloway—once left in a coal bucket on a front porch in a small Alabama town—discovers on her twenty-fifth birthday that she is the kidnapped daughter of a late New England financier and heiress to a fortune. When the tabloid press and her unwanted greedy relatives descend on her, she has to admit the quiet secure life she’s known and loved is gone for good. As Gracie struggles to stabilize her world and come to terms with her new identity, she learns that belonging is not about where you came from but who you are.

Salting Roses hits the spot as a charming and delightful southern novel. There’s just something about winter and holidays that makes me want to crawl under the warm covers with a nice hot cup of cocoa and read a warm and fuzzy southern novel.

What really made this book for me though were the characters. From Gracie Calloway to her surrogate family and her grandmother in Connecticut, all of the characters felt real and added their own eccentric charm to the book. As a protagonist, Gracie was endearing and easy to fall in love with albeit her stubbornness. Her banter with Sam, the private investigator, was witty and sweet and had me chuckling to myself a few times. Her interactions with the other characters were heartwarming and I love the hidden message in their lectures to her as they tried to help her move in the right direction.

The only drawback to this book was probably the slow progression of the book. I can’t exactly put my finger on what made the book slow, but there was something about it that didn’t make the plot move along as fast as I wished it would. Plenty of things were happening to Gracie at the time and in most circumstances I would say the plot was busy, but maybe this was one of those instances where a busy plot just slows down the book. The slowness did not deter me from finishing the book, but it did make me want to put the book down a few times.

Overall Salting Roses was a lovely book about finding your true self while figuring out your identity and dreams. If you’re looking for a sweet and charming southern novel with a wise message, then you might want to pick up this one. It’s a great debut novel and I’m looking forward to Marinello’s future releases.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on December 22, 2010, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love Southern fiction. Have you ever read Joshilyn Jackson? I think I am going to add this one to my TBR list….

  2. Oh my goodness I love Southern Fiction and the premise of this book sounds adorable! Also, I have to ask, did you find out what a ‘salting rose’ is? 🙂

  3. Definitely sounds like something I would like, and good thing — I have a copy in my bookcase right now! The cover enchanted me and it sounds like the story will, too.

  4. I love books set in the South – I’ll have to remember that this one is slow. It sounds good to me!

  5. This one has been getting pretty good reviews. Not sure if it is for me, but I like the cover 🙂

  6. Oooooo I love Southern fiction. This sounds good. And I LOVE the cover. The cover reminds me of the Girl Who Chased the Moon for some reason 🙂

    • i had to do a quick google search of the girl who chased the moon, but you’re right! the covers are similar! i really like both covers, maybe i need to give this other book a shot now.

Leave a Reply

