1 Semester Down 7 To Go

HAPPY NEW YEARS!!!

I hope y’all had a great holiday with friends and family!

As for me, school has started again and two days into it and I’m already tired and overwhelmed. You can expect random sporadic posts and commenting from me since I’ll be popping in and out of the blogging world depending on how much free time I have. From the looks of it though, it doesn’t seem like I’ll have a lot.

Apparently this is suppose to be a hard semester for us. Gross anatomy is about as fun as it sounds. I’m definitely not looking forward to working with cadavers. Just thinking about it makes me want to puke and I have a feeling I’m going to be one of the students who will be emptying their stomach contents all over the floor after setting foot in the gross anatomy lab.

On the bright side, we finally got our drills today so I feel like a real dentist drilling fake teeth. It was an exciting moment until I realized I’m terrible at this. Here’s a scary thought, one year from now, I’ll be working in the clinics with real patients. I know most patients are afraid of dentists, but I think I’m going to be more afraid of my first patient than the other way around. Hopefully by this time next year, I’ll be ready to numb up my classmate and start clinic, until then I need to figure out how to use this drill properly.

Posted on January 5, 2011, in dental school, other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Happy New Year to you! Congrats on getting a drill, and all the best learning. And can I just say, I’m happy I don’t live anywhere near you 😉 heh. Just joking, I’m sure you’ll be great once you see a patient!

  2. Keep up the good work, DW!!!

  3. Happy New Year and don’t let the semester get you down too much – just remember the end goal!!

  4. wow! congrats on the new drill. lol. i wish you the best of luck with your courses this term!

  5. Woo hoo! I’m sure the first semester is the very hardest.

  6. Happy new year, and congrats on your new drill!
    Please don’t stress too much with your first patient, after all, it’s a full year from now! I’m sure you’ll have learned everything you need by then.

Leave a Reply

