Review: Hex Hall

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Publisher: Hyperion

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

From cover:

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

When I first started reading Hex Hall I was immediately reminded of Hogwarts in Harry Potter, except instead of being exclusively just for witches, Hex Hall encompasses other paranormal creatures including shape shifters, werewolves, and faeries.

Hex Hall is a fast read filled with humor and loveable characters. Sophie Mercer is naïve, innocent, a terrible witch, and she makes a lot of mistakes, but that’s why she’s such an endearing protagonist. I’m sure we’re all tired of reading books with perfect characters so reading about a character who stumbles along the way was a nice change. The sarcasm and snarky banter between the characters added to the enjoyment of the book, but I felt like the book was lacking something that I can’t quite put my finger on. Reading Hex Hall felt like going on a first date that you really enjoyed and had a ton of fun with the guy, but once you got home, you just forgot about him because there wasn’t anything spectacular that stood out about him and stayed with you. It was fun while it lasted but easily forgettable.

And while I wasn’t overly impressed by the book or anything, I’m eager to read the next book in the series and see what happens to Sophie next. All in all, Hex Hall is a fun and light read for those who love young adult with a supernatural twist.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on January 11, 2011, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This is on my list to read but it will be further down the line. I am really glad to hear that the banter was fun and not overly angsty. Great Review! I hope school is going well 🙂

  2. Since you compared it to Hogwarts, I’d be willing to give it a try!

  3. Of all the fantasy slants, witch ones are my favorite and I really like that cover so this one sounds pretty fun to me!

  4. Thanks for the review. I love books with witches but I’ve been hesitant to read this one, as many of the YA books recently felt similar to me. I think this one sounds light and fun though! I love a character who’s not too perfect.

  5. Someone told me I have to read this. Great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

