Review: Before I Fall

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Publisher: Harper Collins Publisher

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

From cover:

Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.

Instead, it turns out to be her last.

Then she gets a second chance.

Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death-and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

Wow. What can I say about Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver that has not already been said before? I’m sure everyone has heard about this book and seen the amazing reviews for it and for once I agree with all the hype it’s receiving. Before I Fall is an incredibly beautiful and touching book about the effects and aftermath of the decisions and choices you make.

I’ll be the first to admit that I hated Samantha at the beginning of the book. I couldn’t believe this was the book that everyone was raving about and half way through the first chapter, I had to stop to make sure I was reading the right book—if this book was in fact the one that everyone has been raving about. Sam was mean, rude, and the reason so many of us hated going to high school back in the day. I didn’t think I would enjoy the book at the beginning because I disliked Sam so much, but somewhere along the way, I felt myself becoming immersed in her story and actually caring about her outcome. I started hoping for a happy ending for her.

The book is divided into seven chapters with each chapter covering a different day—well technically it’s the same day, but not. (Hopefully, that statement made some kind of sense to you). As Sam relives her last day over and over, she finally realizes the consequences of her actions and how everything and everyone is interconnected like a web. She goes through a transformation as she’s trying to figure out her purpose and the reason she is given a second chance to change her life.

Towards the homestretch and on the cusp of reading the seventh day, I wanted to stop myself from finishing the book. Not because I didn’t like the book, but because I wasn’t ready to let go of the world Oliver created and while I was eager to know how the book ends, I just didn’t want it to end. It was one of those books that I wanted to devour as quickly as possible just to see what happens next, but at the same time it was also one of those books that I just simply wanted to savor. I wanted to savor her last day and every detail of it.

I’m amazed to find out that this was Oliver’s debut novel. It was incredible and amazing and I can’t wait to see what she has in store for us next. I highly recommend Before I Fall for everybody, even people who wouldn’t normally pick up a young adult novel. I’m sure everyone will find something they love about the book and it’s definitely one that you won’t soon forget.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on January 18, 2011, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ve had this book for a while and keep reading great reviews. I think I’ve been putting it off because of it’s size! Shame on me!

  2. Great review, DW! Have a great week…..

  3. I know, I know, I need to read this one!

  4. Okay you’ve totally sold me on this one. It’s been on my to-read list for awhile, but I’m going to have to request it from the library.

  5. i really liked this one as well! i’m reviewing oliver’s next novel, delirium on 2/1! glad you enjoyed this one–it was so authentic to me because i work in a high school and this wasn’t over the top like some YA books around. it was honest and reflected what high school really can be like for some.

  6. I keep hearing good things about this book 🙂

    PS I have a contest you should check out at Tales of Whimsy

  7. After both of us reading Delirium, both my Not-So-Bebe-Girl Autumn and I know that this one needs to be on our shelves – different sort of book, but with great writing and a great story – how can you lose? Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

