Review: She’s Gone Country

She’s Gone Country by Jane Porter

Publisher: Five Spot

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From cover:

No one ever said going home would be easy…

A former model leading a charmed life in New York City, Shey Darcy was shocked when her handsome photographer husband announced he’d fallen in love with someone else. Left to pick up the pieces of her once happy world, Shey decides to move back to Texas with her three teenage sons. But life on the family ranch brings a new host of dramas, starting with differences of opinion with her staunch Southern Baptist mother and rugged but overprotective brothers, and ending with daily battles with her three sons, who are also struggling to find themselves. Add to the mix Shey’s ex-crush, Dane Kelly, a national bull-riding champ, and she’s got her hands full. It’s not long before Shey realizes that to reinvent herself she must let go of a broken past and an uncertain future, if she is to find happiness- and maybe love- in the present.

She’s Gone Country is my first Jane Porter book, but it certainly won’t be my last. I was initially drawn to the book because it took place in Texas and any time I see a book with a Texas setting I have to pick it up and read it.

What really made this book enjoyable for me were the characters. From Shey to her kids to her ex-crush, each character carried around their own demon and baggage and they were fully fleshed out. Each character had his or her own problem that made them seem like real people rather than just fictional characters. While reading the book, I felt like I was a member of her family or a close friend that she was sharing her secrets with. The book was extremely well written with great depth and details that describe the life of a single mother and the worries and troubles she goes through to look after her children.

I love the relationship between Shey and her ex crush, Dane. The way Shey chased after Dane reminded me of how a schoolgirl would react to her first crush. It was a sweet, heartwarming, giddy, and all around awesome.

With that said, I did have two minor issues with the book because I’m being a picky reader 😉

1.       Shey and her family are Cowboys Cowgirls fan. I know most people in Texas are probably Cowboys fan just because they’ve been around longer, but it still hurts to see in print. And I know people would laugh had Porter made them Texans fans or they would scratch their heads and wonder who are the Texans, because let’s face it, we suck.  In case you’re wondering, yes, I’m still bitter over how the 2010 season ended.

2.       FRIED OREOS! If you ever get the chance to eat one, you should! There’s a part in the book where they go to the State Fair of Texas and the kids mention the corndogs and fried Twinkies, but there was no mention of the fried Oreos. I don’t even think it’s possible to not include State Fair of Texas and fried Oreos in the same sentence. The last time I went to the fair with my friend, we paid a guy twice what they were worth so we didn’t have to wait in line. So I was a little bummed out to not see Porter give some recognition to the fried Oreos.

Anyways, those are my minor nitpicky complaints. Regardless, it was an awesome chick lit book and one that I really enjoyed. I’m excited to go through her backlist and read some of her other works.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]



Posted on January 26, 2011, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I have this book and will have to move it up on my TBR! I have heard she is HILARIOUS 🙂

  2. Great review! I especially like the two points you made at the end. I still don’t know if I would ever try a fried Oreo though…..LOL

  3. I’m so glad to see you liked this book! I really liked it too! Of course, not being from Texas I didn’t have those qualms with it but at least we can agree it was a fun read!

  4. fun review–sounds like a quick read and perfect for vacation! as for state fairs, i’ve always wanted to visit a ‘real’ one–like one in the midwest or south. they seem more authentic than here in the northeast. i don’t even know if we have state fairs around here. 🙂 i’m not sure i’d be on board with fried oreo cookies, though. i don’t like them in the rough, so i don’t think frying them would help matters. 🙂

  5. You had me at fried Oreos! They are pretty much the greatest thing in the world, aren’t they?! I’m salivating.

    Oh, and the book sounds cute, too. 🙂

  6. Awesome review! Mr. Whimsy tried fried peanut butter cups the other day 🙂

  7. I had to laugh when you mentioned fried Oreos – they sound awful to me, but I know people just love them. I’m glad you discovered Jane Porter – her books are so good!

Leave a Reply

