Review: Bloom

Bloom by Elizabeth Scott

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

From cover:

Lauren has a good life: decent grades, great friends, and a boyfriend every girl lusts after. So why is she so unhappy?

It takes the arrival of Evan Kirkland for Lauren to figure out the answer: She’s been holding back. She’s been denying herself a bunch of things (like sex) because staying with her loyal and gorgeous boyfriend, Dave, is the “right” thing to do. After all, who would give up the perfect boyfriend?

But as Dave starts talking more and more about their life together, planning a future Lauren simply can’t see herself in — and as Lauren’s craving for Evan, and moreover, who she is with Evan becomes all the more fierce — Lauren realizes she needs to make a choice…before one is made for her.

Elizabeth Scott has been on my list of authors I needed to read for a while now, but I just never got around to trying one of her books until now. While reading her book I couldn’t help but think of how similar her writing is to Sarah Dessen. But whereas I actually liked the characters in Just Listen (the one book I’ve read by Dessen), I didn’t feel the same way about the characters in Bloom.

I’m not sure if it’s because I went into this book with too high of expectations or what, but I was a little disappointed after I finished it. If you follow my blog you know that I love my characters. I love falling in love with them and being able to get behind them and root for them and seeing them fall down and pick themselves back up. But the characters in Bloom just didn’t do it for me and the plotline fell flat.

For starters, Dave was probably the most one dimensional character I’ve ever read about. He was too much of a Mr. Perfect that he was simply boring, bland and definitely a little too oblivious. There were definitely moments that I just wanted to slap some sense into him. Speaking of slapping characters, I wanted to give Lauren a good smack too. It was very difficult for me to agree with a lot of the choices and decisions she made. For a great portion of the book I thought she was not only a terrible girlfriend to Dave, but also a terrible friend to her best friend, Katie. There were so many times when Katie was reaching out for help and it seemed like Lauren was so caught up in her own life to notice that her friend needed her.

I didn’t completely hate the book or anything, but I’m disappointed because I felt like this book had so much potential. There were so many avenues and roads that opened up while I was reading this book and I thought surely this would be when the book would take a turn for the better, but Scott never explored any of them. She stayed on the surface and the plot ended up being shallow and flat in my opinion.

Bloom is your typical young adult novel and I’m sure if you’re a fan of Scott or young adult novels in general, you would enjoy this book. It just wasn’t for me though.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on February 14, 2011, in 3 stars, book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sorry to see it didn’t meet your expectations. It does sound like Scott is an author worth giving another try.

  2. Hey DW! Hope all is well with you. Thanks for posting your thoughts on this book. I am probably going to pass this one up. I am already iffy on YA anyway, so unless it is getting really high ratings from several people, I don’t bother. Have a great week…..

  3. Wow. I don’t read much YA but after reading your review, I know this is a book that I should pass up. I like how you told us what you didn’t like about it. I hope your next read is better.

  4. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with this one. I only read one of Scott’s books, Living Dead Girl, but apparently it’s very different from her other books. I get really annoyed by one-dimensional characters too though! I’ll give Scott another try, maybe just not with this one.

  5. That is too bad – I need my characters to have some dimension too!

Leave a Reply

