Review: How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf

How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper

Publisher: Gallery (Simon & Schuster)

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From cover:

Even in Grundy, Alaska, it’s unusual to find a naked guy with a bear trap clamped to his ankle on your porch. But when said guy turns into a wolf, recent southern transplant Mo Wenstein has no difficulty identifying the problem. Her surly neighbor Cooper Graham—who has been openly critical of Mo’s ability to adapt to life in Alaska—has trouble of his own. Werewolf trouble.

For Cooper, an Alpha in self-imposed exile from his dysfunctional pack, it’s love at first sniff when it comes to Mo. But Cooper has an even more pressing concern on his mind. Several people around Grundy have been the victims of wolf attacks, and since Cooper has no memory of what he gets up to while in werewolf form, he’s worried that he might be the violent canine in question.

If a wolf cries wolf, it makes sense to listen, yet Mo is convinced that Cooper is not the culprit. Except if he’s not responsible, then who is? And when a werewolf falls head over haunches in love with you, what are you supposed to do anyway? The rules of dating just got a whole lot more complicated. . . .

I’m not a huge romance person, but I’ve always loved reading paranormal novels because I’m just fascinated by the supernatural. I haven’t read a paranormal romance novel in a while though so I’m glad I ran across How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf. I absolutely adored Molly Harper’s last book, And One Last Thing, so when I was approached by the publicist to review this one, I just had to jump at the opportunity and boy am I glad I did.

You know I’m all about characters with depth and small towns with quirky characters and this book definitely fit the bill. It was laugh out loud funny and enchanting to read about the characters and the slow love hate relationship between Mo and Cooper. Harper has a great sense of humor and a way with words. Her writing is fun and witty and the dialogue and banter between the characters kept me chuckling throughout the book.

Was the story far fetched? Yes. Did I look the other way when the plot steered towards the ridiculous? Yes. But then again, I wasn’t expecting the book to be completely realistic. It’s a paranormal romance novel after all. I got exactly what I expected out of the novel and that was many laughs and much entertainment. It was a pleasant and relaxing to come home after a hard day and fall into this book, which was light and fun.

I’m definitely becoming a fan of Molly Harper’s witty and comical writing and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. It’s a good thing The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf will be released in a month (March 19) and I can only hope that Cooper and Mo makes a cameo in that book.

 

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on February 25, 2011, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I bought this on audiobook because it looks cute! I can’t wait to listen to it 🙂

  2. I saw this one the other day when someone reviewed it and added it to my TBR list. It looks like a fun read. Some of the books I read are pretty intense, so it’s nice to escape into the funny (& ridiculous) sometimes!

  3. Quirky characters and small town? Sounds like Molly Harper is following a similar formula to her “Nice Girls…” series – which I LOVED! Oh, I’m so glad you enjoyed this one. I have to get a copy soon!

  4. This is definitely the kind of book that you have to overlook the ridiculous in, but I’m sure that’s part of what made it fun. I have to admit the title made me think it was too silly, but everyone seems to love it, so I think I need to give it a try.

  5. I hadn’t actually heard of this before, but your review makes me want to read it! The title made me too think it might be silly 🙂

  6. sounds like you went into this one with the right attitude! i’ve been on a YA kick lately, but have steered clear of dystopian and paranormal because i ODed on those last year. 🙂 i just finished anna and the french kiss–it was tres cute! 🙂

  7. Perfect review. It’s over the top but such fun!

Leave a Reply

