Life as a Dental Student

Ok, so I lied. I had these big plans for spring break to clean up my google reader and give my much neglected blog some TLC, but spring break has come and gone with me neglecting my blog more than ever.

I could make up a lot of excuses, but the bottom line was this: I was just so mentally and physically exhausted from the courseload that I really didn’t want to do anything. So that’s exactly what I did during my spring break… absolutely nothing. And it felt great!

I didn’t mean to be so absence in the blogosphere lately, but then again, I didn’t realize how difficult and time consuming this semester of dental school was going to be compared to last.

The good news is that it looks like the worst is over and we’re pretty much over the hump. We only have about 45 days left before the semester is over and we’ll finally be done with our first year. I can’t wait! Until then though, I’ll probably be in and out with my blog.

With that said, here’s a few pictures of what I’ve been up to in dental school. I still wouldn’t trust myself with a real patient, but at least I can say I’m getting better. 😀

my first attempt at drilling a class I on a first molar

same tooth with an amalgam filling.

an amalgam filling done with indirect vision, which is ridiculously hard. i'm terrible at working on the upper teeth because it's so hard to use the mirror to do all of your work. my drill was definitely going all over the place.

Posted on March 24, 2011, in dental school, other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I have been wondering where you have been lately! Taking the entire week off to relax and do absolutely nothing sounds like just what you needed. Keep up the good work at school and remember–practice makes perfect!

  2. We can understand! You do well to take time for yourself and do nothing. It’s an excellent way to get some energy and motivation back!

  3. I’m sure you’ll get better! I have a feeling you’re going to be a fantastic dentist!!

  4. Hey school needs your focus! Don’t feel bad!

  5. It’s hard to keep up with this blog stuff in the best of times – I can’t imagine doing it while attending dental school!

    Can’t say I love visiting the dentist (it’s one of my least favorite things) but those photos are interesting – it is cool to see how a dentist learns their craft!

Leave a Reply

