Review: The Ninth Wife

The Ninth Wife by Amy Stolls

Publisher: Harper

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

Bess Gray is a thirty-five-year-old folklorist and amateur martial artist living in Washington, DC. Just as she’s about to give up all hope of marriage, she meets Rory, a charming Irish musician, and they fall in love. But Rory is a man with a secret, which he confesses to Bess when he asks for her hand: He’s been married eight times before. Shocked, Bess embarks on a quest she feels she must undertake before she can give him an answer. With her bickering grandparents (married sixty-five years), her gay neighbor (himself a mystery), a shar-pei named Stella, and a mannequin named Peace, Bess sets out on a cross-country journey—unbeknownst to Rory—to seek out and question the wives who came before. What she discovers about her own past is far more than she bargained for.

I’ve been on an awesome streak lately of running across books I love! Not that I’m complaining or anything. The Ninth Wife by Amy Stolls is another amazing book with a great cast of characters going on a cross country adventure in which they discover that there’s always risk in love and nothing is ever guaranteed.

I absolutely loved all of the characters in this book from Bess to her bickering grandparents to her gay best friend. If you told me that I would fall in love with a guy that has eight ex-wives, I probably would have told you that you’re insane. And yet, somehow through Stolls’s writing, I fell head over heels in love with Rory. I mean how can you not love a hopeless romantic brimming with optimism and always ready to take the leap of faith and risk everything for love? Quite honestly, between you and me, I found myself liking Rory more than Bess and I looked forward to reading his stories about his past marriages.

The book alternates between Rory’s and Bess’s point of view, which I normally don’t like in a book, but in this case it worked really well. I found myself skipping ahead at times just to read Rory’s side of the story. What can I say? Curiosity got the best of me and I really wanted to know how a guy ends up getting married eight times.

I can’t even explain why I enjoyed this book so much. It wasn’t one particular reason, but everything about it. This is definitely one of those instances where the sum of the parts is greater than the whole. Every small detail added into this book was a key ingredient in making this book an entertaining and enjoyable read.

The awesomeness of the book almost snuck up on me. I didn’t even realize how much I enjoyed the book until I was done with it and I was looking back on it. The Ninth Wife is a funny and charming novel that goes beyond Bess and Rory’s relationship and ex wives. There was so much depth to the novel and an interesting look at the different forms of love between people. This is probably going on my 2011 favorite list and one I would highly recommend.

[ purchase from amazon ]

Posted on May 12, 2011, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I am so glad to hear this because I have a copy sitting here that is the 3rd book in my rotation. Now I can’t wait to read it 🙂

  2. Very nice, DW! I’m glad you have had such luck with good books lately. Well, I am off to add this one to my wishlist….

  3. I can’t wait to read this one. I’ve got it in my TBR pile right now.

  4. Rory sounds like a fabulous character!

  5. Oh, this sounds like such a fun read! Much different than the feel I expected from the cover. I hadn’t heard of this one but I think I would enjoy it. I’ll add it to my wishlist!

  6. Wonderful! I’ve been seeing this book and was looking for a review to prove to me that I should read and heck yeah yours did!

  7. Great review! I probably wouldn’t have given this book a second thought, but you’ve made me really curious about Rory.

Leave a Reply

