Welcome!

Howdy ya’ll!

Welcome to my little corner of the internet, where I blog about books, sports, and dental school.

Hmm let’s see what can I say about myself? I’m currently blogging from the great state of Texas, where I’m in the midst of finishing up my first year of dental school. Besides my addiction for books, I also have an addiction to sports. It doesn’t matter what sport is on or whose playing; I can always find something to watch on ESPN. Right now I’m currently tuning into the AHL ice hockey playoffs and keeping an eye on my dear old hockey team, the Houston Aeros. We’re one game away from making it into the AHL Finals for the Calder Cup, so hopefully, fingers crossed; we can pull out a win tomorrow night.

When it comes to books I have to say I’m a pretty eclectic reader. You’ll find anything from nonfiction and memoirs to chick lit and mystery books on my bookshelf. I love books and it doesn’t matter what genre it falls under as long as it has a great plot and awesome characters, I want to read it. I’m always looking for a good book recommendation, although I have to say, ever since I started blogging about books and reading other book blogs, my TBR pile has exploded. I keep telling myself that I need to go on a book buying ban and then the next thing you know I’m out there buying more books. What can I say? I’m addicted to books and there are just too many good books out there and not enough time to read them all.

I’m looking forward to “meeting” everyone during this week of Armchair BEA. If you stop by, leave me a word so that I can come by and visit your blog too!

Posted on May 23, 2011, in blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I wondered about the name “Toothy Books.” Now I know. 🙂 My daughter’s first tooth is ready to fall out any day. She’d rather talk about books, too.

  2. Glad to find you through Armchair BEA. I’m an eclectic reader as well and my TBR pile is out of control! Good luck with Dentistry School!

  3. My husband says the book blogging community is like AA, the difference being that instead of encouraging abstinence we feed each other’s addictions. I wouldn’t have it any other way! 🙂

  4. I love the name “toothy books”! Very clever, very fun, and very appropriate 🙂 My TBR pile has gone crazy since I started blogging, too. It’s a little crazy. I’m a football fan, but that’s as sport-y as I get. I’m more of a music person. And books, of course! I tend to read mostly fiction: contemporary, historical, YA, classics. I love audiobooks, too.

    Nice to “meet” you; have a wonderful Armchair BEA!

  5. I think you’re the first dentist (or dentist-to-be) book blogger I’ve “met.” How fun! My husband does business consulting for dentists, so I hear a lot of “tooth talk” around here. Good luck with school and everything after. Dentistry is a crazy profession, from what I hear.

    Glad to have found your blog!

  6. HI! It’s nice to meet you! I am going to be stalking your blog for a review of Heart’s Blood!

  7. Blogging should come with warning labels – “Warning! Participation may create unbelievably large piles of books that all require to be read. Begin blogging at your own risk!” I know that in one short year, my TBR pile went from 25 to 125. I am now at over 400 books on my TBR pile, and that does not include those that are on my wish list!

    I love sports too. I grew up in a family that was always watching sports of any kind no matter what was on. There are times I do miss it but my husband is not a huge fan of most sports – just football. LOL!

    Welcome to Armchair BEA! On behalf of the organizers, we hope you have a blast this week!

Leave a Reply

