Armchair BEA Interview: Alyce from At Home With Books

There’s so many book blogs out there that it’s hard to keep track of everyone. The great thing about Armchair BEA though is that it gives us a chance to explore all the different blogs out there and meet new people. I had the pleasure of interviewing Alyce from At Home With Books and learning a bit more about her.

What’s your favorite thing about book blogging?

You would think this would be an easy question to answer, but there are so many facets to book blogging that make it appealing to me.  I think the top two would have to be:

1.       The sense of community – connecting with other book bloggers both online and in person.

2.       Access to new books – I love being able to find out about and read books prior to their release.

If someone wrote a biography about you, what would the title be?

I’d like to think it would be something positive like “The Insatiable Curiosity of Being (a Reader)” but it would more likely be something like “A Book a Day Keeps the Crazy Away.”

What’s one of your must read books that you feel everyone should read at least once in their lifetime?

I’d say the Harry Potter books, because they have such a cross-generational appeal, and are so much fun to read.  I started reading the series as an adult, and I never get tired of them. Plus it frustrates me that some people criticize the books without ever reading them.  I think if they actually read the series they would be surprised at how whimsical and fun they are, and what a good moral message they have.

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not, living or dead, real or fictional. Who would it be?

This is something I’ve never really given a lot of thought to.  Off the top of my head I’m going to go with young Elvis (when he was famous but in the pre-drug, pre-twinkie years).  I’d love to be able to experience that kind of confidence on stage, not to mention being able to sing with a great amount of skill.

What are your plans for the summer?

My husband and I are visiting Hawaii for the first time, so we’re very excited about that. We’re also planning a trip to take our kids to see the Oregon Caves and possibly Crater Lake. The only other plans we have are to visit various local farms to pick produce on the weekends, which I’m very excited about now that we have a freezer to store it all in. Only three more weeks until the strawberry season starts here in Oregon.

Best vacation destination?

I haven’t vacationed in very many places outside of Oregon. So far my favorite has been London, but Hawaii might surpass that.  I’ll just have to wait and see.

If you were a superhero, what would your superpowers be?

Perfect health that I could share with anyone I wanted to.  I know it’s hardly glamorous, but I would love to never have to worry about illness or chronic health conditions, and I would surely like to be able to heal others.

Since I’m a dental student I have to ask, what’s your favorite tooth? (I know its random, but it was asked at one of my interviews and I’m curious how people would respond to this.)

Well, I can’t decide on one, I’d have to say my upper front teeth. When I was young I had an extreme overbite and my lower jaw was growing down instead of out like it was supposed to, so that made the problem even worse.  When I was sixteen I had reconstructive jaw surgery done on my upper and lower jaws, and for the first time in my life my front teeth came together.  The funny thing is that I didn’t look all that different after the surgery other than my teeth lining up the way they were supposed to.  (The most common question I get is about the change in my looks, my teeth really didn’t look all that terrible prior to surgery, they just weren’t as functional.  Prior to braces however… well let’s just say I had an interesting smile.)

Posted on May 25, 2011, in blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks, DW and Alyce, for this charming interview. Alyce, I like how you might entitle a biography about you…A Book a Day Keeps the Crazy Away. I had a good chuckle over that one. I can relate.

    I also think it’s interesting that you’re here on Toothy Books, considering your “toothy” drama this past year (root canals, etc.). Not so funny, huh?

    Here’s MY ARMCHAIR POST

  2. Great interview! The tooth question made me laugh. It’s so random, but so much fun!

    Thanks for participating in our round-robin interviews! They are randomly assigned, so one of my favorite things is seeing who gets matched up with whom. Sometimes the bloggers are complete opposites, and others find a ton of similarities. I hope you had fun and were able to make some new blogging friends!

  3. Thanks for doing this interview! I had fun answering the questions!

Leave a Reply

