Review: The Help

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Publisher: Amy Einhorn Books

Ratings:

Source: Borrowed from a friend

 

 

 

 

 

From the cover:

Three ordinary women are about to take one extraordinary step.

Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but Constantine has disappeared and no one will tell Skeeter where she has gone.

Aibileen is a black maid, a wise, regal woman raising her seventeenth white child. Something has shifted inside her after the loss of her own son, who died while his bosses looked the other way. She is devoted to the little girl she looks after, though she knows both their hearts may be broken.

Minny, Aibileen’s best friend, is short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody’s business, but she can’t mind her tongue, so she’s lost yet another job. Minny finally finds a position working for someone too new to town to know her reputation. But her new boss has secrets of her own.

Seemingly as different from one another as can be, these women will nonetheless come together for a clandestine project that will put them all at risk. And why? Because they are suffocating within the lines that define their town and their times. And sometimes lines are made to be crossed.

Okay, so quick disclaimer before I get into the review of this book. I admit I have a serious issue when it comes to reading. I have a tendency to pass up on books that are too hyped up. I guess the main reason is that I’m afraid the book won’t live up to my expectations from all the hype so rather than be disaapointed by the book, I just don’t read it. That’s one of the main reasons why I haven’t read Twilight yet and The Hunger Games, and until now, The Help.

Oh man, I had no idea what I was missing and I really wished someone would of shoved this book into my hands and told me that I had to read it right away. Lucky for me, I had a friend that did that to me once she heard a movie of the book was coming out. Speaking of the movie, I can’t wait to see it! I’ve probably watched the trailer a million times already! Ha! I’m just kidding, I’m not that addicted to it.

Regardless, I LOVED this book! It’s the kind of book that I would definitely shove into people’s hands and tell them to read it. It was truly amazing and now that I’m sitting here writing the review, I’m actually a little shocked by how much I did enjoy the book. When my friend first handed the book to me, I’ll be honest with you, I didn’t want to start it. The book sat at a hefty 450 pages and I was a little intimidated by the sheer size of it. But I’m happy to tell you that I didn’t even notice the length! I couldn’t believe how fast I powered through this book. I probably read it in two days, just because I couldn’t get enough of it!

What can I say about this book that hasn’t already been said already? Simply put, the book was truly a masterpiece. The characters were wonderful! I especially loved Minny with her straight forward attitude and dry humor. The Help is one of those books that made me laugh and cry and it’s one that you wouldn’t want to miss. If you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend you pick up this book and read it before the movie comes out in August.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on June 2, 2011, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m the same – if I a books is too hyped I ignore it! However, this one is great and I agree totally worth the time!

  2. I haven’t read this book yet and know I should. I think I’m worried that it stereotypes Southerners. I love Southern literature but some of it does tend to make us all look like idiots.

  3. Wow that is a glowing review! I have been skipping it so far as well because of the hype.

  4. This book was wonderful IMO; can’t wait to see the movie.

  5. Though I was intimidated by its girth, too, I read this one last year and was absolutely in love with it! It’s so deserving of all the attention and praise, and I’m very stoked to see the movie. The trailer looks awesome!

  6. Like you I have been avoiding this one because of all the hype. It’s on my ereader for a year I think, and I still haven’t read it!

  7. I really need to make time to read this before the movie comes out! Glad to see you loved it. I’m always a bit hesitant when I pick up a book that everyone seems to gush about.

Leave a Reply

