Review: Everything Beautiful Began After

Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

Rebecca is young, lost, and beautiful. A gifted artist, she seeks solace and inspiration in the Mediterranean heat of Athens—trying to understand who she is and how she can love without fear.

George has come to Athens to learn ancient languages after growing up in New England boarding schools and Ivy League colleges. He has no close relationships with anyone and spends his days hunched over books or wandering the city in a drunken stupor.

Henry is in Athens to dig. An accomplished young archaeologist, he devotedly uncovers the city’s past as a way to escape his own, which holds a secret that not even his doting parents can talk about.

…And then, with a series of chance meetings, Rebecca, George, and Henry are suddenly in flight, their lives brighter and clearer than ever, as they fall headlong into a summer that will forever define them in the decades to come.

Simon Van Booy. His name alone should make you want to read this book. I don’t think I’ve ever crossed another writer with his writing style and skills. Everything Beautiful Began After absolutely blew me away and it’s one of those books that I’m going to cherish forever.

It’s tough trying to review this book because I don’t even know where to begin describing how wonderful and poetic the writing in this book is. Everything was so well developed and amazing and the story was spot on and touching in the way it described family, friends, relationship, and love. I’m going to make this a short review and just tell you that you have to read this book.

I highly recommend picking up Everything Beautiful Began After or any book by Simon Van Booy for that matter. I promise you won’t regret it. I already have his novel of short stories, Love Begins in Winter, sitting in my TBR pile and I can’t wait to read it. I purchased it a while back, but I’m not a huge fan of short stories so I never felt compelled to open it up, but after reading Everything Beautiful Began After I excited to dive into another one of his works.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on August 1, 2011, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. The title alone has entranced me and I’m all for lovely writing! Have added this one to my wishlist.

  2. This one has been getting rave reviews all over. I’ve got it, just need to pick it up and read it!

  3. Yes, I so want to read this! I think that the descriptions and the reviews I’ve read for it have been stunning!

  4. I keep reading wonderful things about Van Booy’s writing, so I’m really anxious to read this book.

  5. Hi DW! I am finally back after a long hiatus from my blog. You’re gushing so much about this author that I’m going to have to check him out on Goodreads!

  6. I have seen nothing but glowing reviews of this book, so I had to put myself on hold for a copy at the library. Glad you loved it, too. I must admit, though, that my expectations are really high now. 😉

  7. Everyone seems to be praising Van Booy lately. I hadn’t heard of him prior to the release of this book, but when so many people like something it makes me curious. I’ll have to check this one out sometime.

Leave a Reply

