Harry Potter Take Two

I read my first Harry Potter book when I was eleven (the same age as Harry!) and quickly picked up book two and three after that. I remember buying book 4 at Barnes and Noble on the day it was released, but then after that I fell off the Harry Potter bandwagon. I don’t even know why I stopped reading the books and I just never got around to finishing the Harry Potter series. Every time I saw a review for a Harry Potter book I told myself I was going to finish reading the series. I mean I had the books sitting right there on my bookshelf, all I had to do was open them up and read them. But I guess other books just kept getting in the way. I promised myself I was going to finish the series this summer in time to watch the last movie and that didn’t happen.

One of the things that I really loved about the Harry Potter books was that I grew up with Harry Potter. When he was eleven I was eleven, when he was twelve, I was twelve, and so and so forth. I’ll admit, I was a little reluctant to read the books now because I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about reading the books now that I’m and adult. The books were geared towards children and I wasn’t sure if it would have the same effect that it did when I read it as kid as oppose to reading it now when I’m older.

Anyways, when I saw Natalie’s post about Harry Potter and Amy’s post about reading your own books in August, I thought it was the perfect time to pick up the Harry Potter books and finish the series. I figured I might as well reread the first four books because let’s face it; I can’t really remember what happened in the books. So for the past week or so I’ve put aside all other books, haven’t really touched my computer, and have been completely immersed in the world of Harry Potter.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I really enjoy reading the books even though I’m an adult. Was Ron always so funny? I don’t think I ever realized how much of a comic relief he added to the books until I started rereading the books.

I zoomed through the first four books but now that I’m on book five I feel like I’ve hit a road block. Harry has finally hit his terrible teenage years and he’s filled with so much anger and angst. There have been several moments where I just want to slap him and tell him to stop being such a brat. I have to admit that plenty of people have warned me that book 5 is their least favorite book and that it’s only there to build up the story for book 6 and 7. With that said I’m hoping that Harry stops complaining and whining so much because I’m getting quite annoyed with him and I don’t think I could read three more books with him behaving this way. I’m hoping to finish the series before school starts, but I’m not sure if I can read the books fast enough. Their sheer size is quite intimidating.

Posted on August 10, 2011, in other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hey DW! Don’t give up on the series…..

    I am not much of a YA fan and never really got into the whole Harry Potter craze, but I did enjoy all of the books. And yes, I read them as an adult!

  2. I feel so old – I was an adult when these books came out. Yes, the books do get darker, but aren’t most teens that way? I agree that you need to stick with the series.

  3. Good luck with the books 🙂 I don’t know how you stopped reading. I read them all as soon as they came out!

  4. It’s things like realizing Ron without having noticed it before that make me enjoy re-reading books so much! I do encourage you to not give up on book 5, it’s one of my least favorites too but 6 and 7 get much better 🙂

  5. That’s so cool that these books remained exciting even as an adult. I need to read them all still.

  6. oh, gosh! i’m so happy that i motivated you to try to finish them but have to say that there is a REASON behind harry’s personality shift, so stick with it!! i remember feeling the exact same way when i read it originally. 🙂 is that a spoiler? i finished watching all the movies (on dvd) last week and anthony took me to see the final movie afterward. i admit it: i cried. i’m finishing my reread of the series–in the middle of the deathly hallows–and have to say that i do love ron, too. he’s such a crack up.

Leave a Reply

