Tooth and Mail (13)

Tooth and Mail is just like In My Mailbox hosted by Kristi and Mailbox Monday hosted by Marcia with a little twist to the name to match my blog. Mailbox Monday is currently on tour and Staci at Life in the Thumb is hosting it this month. It’s basically a meme that allows bloggers to share with one another the books we’ve acquired during the week.

I definitely forgot how intense dental school is and I had to take a week off from blogging just to get my life back in order. I’ve only been in school for two weeks and yet I’m already finding myself going to school on Saturdays just to catch up in operative. I’m a pretty slow dentist right now and let’s face it, no patient wants to sit there for three hours just so I can drill and fill their tooth, but that’s the pace I’m going at right now.

So far second year is a lot harder than my first year of dental school, but I’m enjoying it so much more because we’re taking more dental related classes. We’re in the dental lab a lot this semester which means a ton of arts and crafts time and I’m getting to work with my hands a lot more which is the main reason why I wanted to be a dentist in the first place. Of course that also means my poor hands are taking quite a beating. I’ve already managed to burn myself with the bunsen burners a few times, not to mention I also cut myself with a lab knife and poked myself with a bur. I’m just an accident waiting to happen, but that’s what I get for being such a klutz.

Now for the books I got in the past couple of weeks…

Salty by Mark Haskell Smith

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The King of Methlehem by Mark Lindquist

The First Husband by Laura Dave

Posted on August 28, 2011, in meme, tooth and mail and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. You’ll get into the swing of things before you know it! I’ve heard great things about The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Enjoy your new books!

  2. Boy! It does sound like year two will be a lot more difficult. I’m sure you will be an expert in no time!

    Hope you have a wonderful week…….

  3. Good luck with your next year of school!

    Your new books look great – lots of fun ones there 🙂

  4. LOVE The Perks of Being a Wallflower!!

  5. What a diverse set of books! All of those titles are new to me, but they look great! If you get a chance, check out My Mailbox!

  6. Nice mix of books!
    (I prefer a careful dentist to a fast one.)

  7. Hang in there – it will get tougher but think of the light at the end of that dental train.. Yes – it will get better and you’ll be smiling one day thinking back to this day. On the trail of books now – love the Salty cover – very tongue in cheek with the bikini bottom and the elephant trunk. Sending you lots of positive thoughts and witchery to get you through the times ahead 🙂

  8. You have impressive ambitions, and I’m sure that you will make your way through. Meanwhile, enjoy your books in your free time.

    Salty looks intriguing; and I’ve been wanting to read The First Husband.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  9. You got a nice set of books. I’m not sure what Salty is about but it has an interesting cover.
    Happy Reading,
    Book Sniffers Anonymous

  10. Gee you got a lot of New To Me titles…enjoy.

  11. Good luck in school. I liked First Husband

  12. Enjoy! your mailbox, sounds good.

  13. Salty has an interesting cover. Hope you enjoy them all. Good luck with your classes!

  14. A good friend gave me First Husband…looks great!! Enjoy your reads!

Leave a Reply

