Review: Love Story

Love Story by Jennifer Echols

Publisher: MTV Books

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

For Erin Blackwell, majoring in creative writing at the New York City college of her dreams is more than a chance to fulfill her ambitions–it’s her ticket away from the tragic memories that shadow her family’s racehorse farm in Kentucky. But when she refuses to major in business and take over the farm herself someday, her grandmother gives Erin’s college tuition and promised inheritance to their maddeningly handsome stable boy, Hunter Allen. Now Erin has to win an internship and work late nights at a coffee shop to make her own dreams a reality. She should despise Hunter . . . so why does he sneak into her thoughts as the hero of her latest writing assignment?

Then, on the day she’s sharing that assignment with her class, Hunter walks in. He’s joining her class. And after he reads about himself in her story, her private fantasies about him must be painfully clear. She only hopes to persuade him not to reveal her secret to everyone else. But Hunter devises his own creative revenge, writing sexy stories that drive the whole class wild with curiosity and fill Erin’s heart with longing. Now she’s not just imagining what might have been. She’s writing a whole new ending for her romance with Hunter . . . except this story could come true.

I immediately became a huge fan of Jennifer Echols after reading Forget You last summer. I was super excited when I found out she was releasing another book so soon and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the book and read it. Unfortunately, it seems like my expectations for Love Story was a little too high coming into it and I was a little disappointed after finished reading it.

Quite honestly I’m surprised I didn’t enjoy it more. The story had such a great premise and I enjoy the uniqueness of it. It was different and fun to see Erin and Hunter share their true feelings for one another through the stories they wrote for their writing class. I also like Erin a lot more than I liked Zoey from Forget You. She was as irritating and at no point during the book did I want to slap her. It was also refreshing to read a book about college students. It seems like the majority of books written these days are either about high school students in their teens or adults in their thirties (or at least that’s always the kind of books that I run across).

All of these things made me want to like the book more than I did, but despite all of that, I felt like something was missing from the book. I can’t exactly put my finger on exactly what though. It may be that the relationship between Erin and Hunter just couldn’t quite compare to what Doug and Zoey had. Or maybe I was disappointed because of the execution of the book. I felt like Echols set up a wonderful storyline that had so much potential, but then fell short at the end. I thought the ending came quite abruptly and as I turned the last page I couldn’t help but think “that’s it?’. I felt like she could of expanded on some of her storylines and the plot lines that I wished she would elaborate on she just left them alone.

Although this isn’t my favorite Echols book, I still love her writing and her stories. I’m looking forward to her next book and hoping that she’ll redeem herself with it.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on September 2, 2011, in 3 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This isn’t an author I am familiar with and I am not completely sold on the premise, so I am on the fence with this one. I am sorry it didn’t live up to your expectations.

  2. Sometimes having too many expectations leaves a reader really disappointed. I try to go into books with no expectations, but it is really hard. This one has me interested, it’s on my wishlist. Happy reading!

  3. I’ve read other lukewarm reviews of this one, so I don’t think it’s just you. I’ll have to look for Forget You.

  4. i downloaded some samples of jennifer echols’s books on my kindle but the first chapters didn’t grab me. i’m always on the hunt for good YA–my students constantly ask me for recs and i need ammo! i’m going to check out forget you since you seemed to like it so much. thanks for the inspiration!

  5. Sorry to hear this was such a disappointment. I haven’t read anything by Jennifer Echols, but I think I may have to read Forget You.

  6. That happens sometimes when I go into a book hoping for the world. Better luck with her next one!

  7. Thanks for the honest review. I’ve been wanting to try this author and I do like the synopsis. So many times those abrupt, lackluster endings just ruin a book! I read one over the weekend like that. I still might give this one a try, but I think I’ll look for Forget You first.

  8. Thanks for your honesty. This one has been on my wishlist.

Leave a Reply

