Review: The First Husband

The First Husband by Laura Dave

Publisher: Viking

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

From the cover:

Annie Adams thinks she has it all. Her longtime boyfriend, Nick, is on the verge of becoming a successful film director, her travel column is nationally syndicated, and they’ve got a great dog. Her life finally feels like it is falling into place. Until, out of nowhere, Nick announces that he’s reconnected with a woman from his past and he’s moving out.

Reeling from Nick’s exit, Annie stumbles into her neighborhood bar and finds Griffin, a down to earth chef who seems to be everything she didn’t know she wanted. Three months later, they’re married. And Annie finds herself in a small Massachusetts town — completely unmoored and wondering if she’s picked a life on the rebound. When Nick returns, wanting a second chance, Annie’s stuck: truly torn between her husband and the man she may have been meant to marry.

Love love love. The First Husband by Laura Dave is probably landing somewhere on my favorite books of 2011 list. To be honest, I first became interested in this book after reading a tweet from Jonathan Tropper promoting the book. I’m sure you all know how much I absolutely love and adore Tropper so anything he recommends I’m going to get my hands on it and read it.

It’s been a long time since I read a chick lit that was so fulfilling and satisfying. I really enjoying reading chick lit novels just because they’re so light and refreshing and I can get through them pretty fast and easy. Although there are times where I’ll finish the book and can’t help but think that book just didn’t do it for me and it somehow missed the mark. That wasn’t the cause for The First Husband.

The First Husband is a funny, entertaining, witty, and romantic novel that follows Annie Adams after she receives some devastating news from her boyfriend (well now former boyfriend) of five years. Taking her best friend’s advice of becoming the complete opposite of herself to heart, Annie goes on an adventure to find out where she belongs and where home really is. Annie was such an entertaining character to follow. Her wit and charm was top notch and she had me bursting out laughing throughout the book despite her unfortunate situation. Not only did this book have me laughing out loud, it was also one of those books that once I picked up I honestly could not put it down. I read this book in between classes during my breaks, I read it during lunch, I even put off sleep just to finish this book because I had to know what happened. I can’t even remember the last time I was so entertained by a book.

This is definitely one of my favorite books and one that I can see myself re-reading over the years. If you’re a fan of chick lit and romantic comedies, I highly recommend you pick up a copy of The First Husband by Laura Dave.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on September 16, 2011, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This sounds fab as I love chick lit! I think this might be the perfect book to add to my list of books to take with me on an upcoming vacation!

  2. This one looks really good, and I have to admit, I’m in love with the cover!!! I admit it — I do judge a book by its cover. At least at first! 🙂

  3. I’m guessing this author is from New England as he debut novel (London is the Best Place in America) was set in Rhode island. I thought it was very good too. Gotta try this one.

  4. oh, this sounds so good! i hope it’s available on kindle. while chick-lit isn’t my first choice, i want to see where this story goes. thanks for enticing me. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Giveaway: The First Husband « Bermudaonion's Weblog

Leave a Reply

