Review: The Informationist

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens

Publisher: Broadway Paperbacks

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

Vanessa Munroe deals in information–expensive information–working for corporations, heads of state, private clients, and anyone else who can pay for her unique brand of expertise. A Texas oil billionaire hires her to find his daughter who vanished in Africa four years ago. Pulled into the mystery of the missing girl, Munroe finds herself back in the land of her childhood, betrayed, cut off from civilization, and left for dead. If she has any hope of escaping the jungle and the demons that drive her, she must come face-to-face with the past that made her who she is.

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens was exactly what I needed to get out of my book funk. Once I picked up this book I couldn’t put it down. I pulled it out between classes, at lunch, at the bus stop, and everywhere else in between. I was initially interested in this book when I heard that it was drawing comparisons to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, which I really loved reading.

After reading The Informationist, I can see why people are comparing Vanessa Monroe to Lisbeth Salander and I can’t help but wonder if The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo has started a new genre of books for female protagonist—tough as nails, intelligent, yet emotionally scarred due to a traumatic event in their childhood. Not that I’m complaining or anything. If the other books are just as good as these two, then all I have to say is keep ’em coming.

If you’re looking for a good thriller book, look no further and pick this one up. I have a lot of friends who attempted to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo due to all the hype its getting, but weren’t able to get past the first hundred pages or so because of how dense and detail the book is, and to those people, I highly recommend The Informationist. I found this book to be just as good without being bogged down by unnecessary details. It’s a fast pace novel that is gripping, exciting, and quite simply entertaining.

Overall, The Informationist is a book that won’t let you go once you pick it up and one that will leave you guessing until the very end. I can’t wait to read the sequel to this book, The Innocent, which will be released in December 2011.

Series Order

  1. The Informationist
  2. The Innocent (December 2011)

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on November 17, 2011, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This one sounds outside of my norm, but that’s a good thing! I have Girl with a Dragon Tattoo downloaded, so once I try that one, I might jump on this one as well. Glad it pulled you out of your reading funk!

  2. Hey there fellow book lover. I am new to this blogging thing and decided to start reading some other blogs as many have been so kind to view mine, all 50 views.

    You did a good job in trying to sell the book but I would have liked to know more about the story and what specifically you liked about it. I didn’t read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo so I have no perspective when comparing the books.

    Thanks for the read.

  3. Ooh, I love books that grab me like that!!

  4. I am very anxious to read this one. I really like the sound of it.

  1. Pingback: The Informationist by Taylor Stevens | Word Lily

Leave a Reply

