Review: The Hunger Games Trilogy

I hope everyone had an amazing Thanksgiving with their family and friends. I spent the majority of my Thanksgiving dodging family drama with my nose stuck in the Hunger Games triology. I know I know, I’m extremely late to the Hunger Games bandwagon/ party, but at least I’m here now, right? I’ll be the first to admit that when a book receives a ton of hype and publicity, I usually run the other way. I always feel like I’ll go into the book with too high of expectations after hearing about how amazing the book is, and then being disappointed after finishing the book. So I waited until the hype died down a bit before I finally decided that it’s about time I picked up this series and read it. Plus I wanted to at least read the books before the movies come out.

I’ve been debating back and forth on how I should review the trilogy and decided that these books probably don’t need another review as it is. So instead of doing my usual review of each book, I’m just going to give you my final thoughts on the series in general. Mainly, its the issues I had with the final book of the series.

Quick warning: Major spoilers up ahead so don’t read this if you haven’t read the books and please excuse my ranting.

So without further ado, here are my final thoughts on the trilogy.

  • The Hunger Games was by far my favorite book with Mockingjay being my least
  • What happened to the characters that we came to know and love in Mockingjay?
    • Katniss went from being a feisty, strong willed, yet soft hearted character to this sedated, drug induced, and depressed character that hid in closets and behind pipes. This was not the heroine I was rooting for in the first book.
    • Gale went from being this strong hunter and gatherer who provided for his family and is considerate and kind to this crazy and psychotic, angry killing machine. He was ready to kill anyone and destroy anything that crosses his path.
    • Petta. Oh boy, what do I have to say about him. He was absolutely positively insane by the time we got to the third book. I can’t really blame him though because he was hijacked, but boy oh boy, definitely not the Petta we met in the first book. I wasn’t even sure how I felt about him by the time the book concluded.
    • Haymitch, well was Haymitch by the time the book ended. He started off as a drunkard and when the final page turned, he was still a drunkard. I was hoping that there would be some growth or transformation to his character. Now that he had people who he cared about in Katniss and Petta, and people who cared about him, I thought that perhaps there may be some changes to his character, but I guess that’s just wistful thinking.
  • Was I the only one that was dissatisfied with how the love triangle ended?
    • Throughout much of the trilogy, you could argue both sides of the love triangle and I could see Katniss falling for either one of the characters which definitely kept things interesting. I honestly didn’t know which one she was going to end up with, but what I didn’t like how Gale was completely removed from the triangle. I felt like Collins looked for the easy way out by sticking Gale in District 2 and practically forcing Katniss to pick Petta because he was the only one that was available and there in District 12. Also I thought making Gale as the scapegoat for Prim’s death was unnecessary. I can almost understand why she would want to kill off Prim (actually, no I don’t), but did she have to put all the blame on Gale too? The other thing I didn’t like about the love triangle is that I felt like there was absolutely no development  in their relationship in the third book. In book one and two there was some slight growth in their relationship, but in book three there wasn’t anything and then all of a sudden they’re married with kids.
  • I hate the way the characters were killed off.
    • Actually, I should probably say I hate it when characters get killed off, but I get it. The author invented these characters and they can do whatever they want with them. I just wish that after everything Finnick and Prim did for the cause, their death would be more significant. Finnick got as much attention as the other soldiers from 13 who died along with him. I felt like his role as a victor should granted him a better death if there is such a thing. I really liked Finnick and he was probably one of my favorite characters so I’m still struggling with his death.
  • Why does it feel like nothing happened in this book, yet at the same time so much happened?
    • While reading Mockingjay, I felt like nothing was going on at all, except there was this huge war going on with the struggle for power. We follow Katniss’s point of view and for a great majority of the book she’s completely sedated so she misses out on all the action. I was prepared to see her break into the capital, guns, or rather bow a blazing, and kick ass. Instead, when things get exciting, she catches fire and blacks out and returns to her drug induced state. Not cool.

Overall though, I really did enjoy reading these books. I can see myself rereading them and I’m still super excited for the movies so I don’t think it’s a waste of time or anything to read them. I just wish some things were different, but I’m not the author so I guess I can’t really complain. I know this post might make it sound like I didn’t enjoy the books, but that’s not the case at all. I really enjoyed the first book of the series as it was exciting, thrilling, and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the read. It was just that by the time I got to the end of the series, I was a little disappointed by how everything concluded. Regardless, you should read it if you haven’t and discuss it with me if you have.

Posted on November 28, 2011, in book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I loved The Hunger Games and thought Mockingjay ruined the series. I never even posted a review on Mockingjay because it bugged it so much. I just thought the love triangle was trite and contrived. This is a world where basic survival is more important than almost anything and way to much time was spent on it in Mockingjay. Plus, didn’t really buy her with either guy *argh*!

    Great Review 🙂

  2. I skimmed your review since I haven’t started this series yet. My husband really enjoyed it but, like you, felt let down by Mockingjay. He’s very anxious to see the movie.

  3. Like you, I don’t like to read books that have too much hype but I also like to read books before the movie comes out. I haven’t read this series yet but I loved reading your thoughts!

  4. I really enjoyed some aspects of Mockingjay, and other, most of which you mentioned, really annoyed me. So I still haven’t reviewed it, more than a year after reading it. I’ll probably have to reread it, but I have to say, Katniss sleeping half of the book is a huge part of why I didn’t enjoy it as much I I had hoped.
    Great review of the trilogy 🙂

  5. I feel like one of the very few who haven’t read (and have no interest in) this trilogy. I loved your honest review.

Leave a Reply

