Review: Falling for Me

Falling for Me: How I Hung Curtains, Learned to Cook, Traveled to Seville, and Fell in Love by Anna David

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

From the cover:

Like most women, whether they’ve chosen the Fortune 500 career path or have had five kids by 35, Anna David wondered if she’d made the right choices. Then she came upon the book Sex and the Single Girl by Helen Gurley Brown, Cosmopolitan’s fearless leader from the mid-sixties to the late nineties. Immediately connecting with Gurley Brown’s unique message of self-empowerment combined with femininity, Anna vowed to use Sex as a lesson plan, venturing out of her comfort zone in the hope of overcoming the fears and insecurities that had haunted her for years. Embarking on a journey both intensely personal and undeniably universal, she becomes adventurous and spontaneous—reviving her wardrobe and apartment, taking French lessons, dashing off to Seville, and whiling nights away with men she never would have considered before. In the process, she ends up meeting the person really worth changing for: herself.

I’ve always been a fan of memoirs and nonfiction books and Falling for Me by Anna David is another enjoyable memoir although I felt like something was missing from this book to make it a really great book.

While reading the book, I had to give a lot of credit to David for going through the transformation that she did. The book opens with David questioning her life and wondering if there is more to it than just this. In her attempt to discover herself and find what she truly wants out of life, she runs across Sex and the Single Girl by Helen Gurley Brown, a book written in the 1960s. David decides to take Brown’s advice to heart and completely changes her lifestyle. I was a little shock by how far David took Brown’s advice and followed every step mentioned in the book. I can’t say I would of done the same, especially when I knew that this book was geared towards female in the 1960s. At the same time, I was also surprised by how relevant a book written in the 1960s would apply to women in the 21st century.

Falling for Me follows David as she transforms her life from preparing her first Thanksgiving dinner to moving to another city where she didn’t know anyone. She took everything in stride and while her journey to self discovery wasn’t always full of sunshine and rainbows, she ended up learning a valuable lesson in the end.

Overall, Falling for Me is a funny and entertaining novel in which David tackles problems that I’m sure many of us can relate to. I think we’ve all been in her shoes before where we wonder what else is there to life and where is the family I’m suppose to have by the time I hit 40.

If you’re looking for an inspiring and enjoyable memoir that will leave you laughing, then you should pick up Falling for Me by Anna David. It’s a light and fast read that will keep you entertained.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on December 5, 2011, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love memoirs like this and look forward to this one. I wonder if I’ll be able to figure out what’s missing when I read it.

  2. This was definitely a thought-provoking book! Sometimes I thought David’s behavior was ridiculous, sure, but I could recognize that she was going through the process and never claimed to be perfect. I shared it with my sister next!

  3. I agree with you that it was a light and fast paced read! I certainly found it, while not the best memoir I’ve ever read, an entertaining way to pass the time!

  4. I’ve always found memoirs were hit and miss for me, but this one sounds like something I might actually enjoy! Great review that got me curious about the book, I’ll add it to my wishlist!

Leave a Reply

