Santaland Diaries

Last weekend, in between studying for finals, I was able to sneak out for a few hours and attend the Santaland Diaries play that is currently airing at our local theatre. I have to say, watching Santaland Diaries definitely put me in the festive and holiday mood. Living down here in the south, its easy to forget that its already December. Our temperatures finally just dipped below 60 degrees this week and you can bet everyone has been complaining about the “freezing” temperatures. I know those of ya’ll up north are probably scoffing at us and calling us wussies, but 30 degrees weather is abnormal for us down here.

When my friend suggested that we go see Santaland Diaries, I just accepted the offer because I thought it was something to do besides studying. Plus I’m always looking for an excuse to distract myself and not study. It wasn’t until I got to the theatre that I realized Santaland Diaries was an essay written by David Sedaris about his experience working as an elf at a Santaland in Macy’s. Surprisingly enough, despite my love for memoirs, I haven’t read anything by him yet. I’ve heard his name thrown around a lot and people are always telling me how funny and amusing his books are, but I just haven’t found the time to read his books. That’s defintiely going to change now though.

If Santaland Diaries is just a small dose of Sedaris’s humor and antics, then I’m really excited to pick up one of his books. I was smiling if not right out laughing throughout the play. It usually takes a lot for me to really laugh out loud, but the play was hilarious and I’m sure a lot of the credit is due to Sedaris as well as the actor. I’m not sure if Santaland Diaries is playing in any other places, but if you do get the opportunity to see it, I would highly recommend it. Its funny and entertaining and if nothing else, it’ll put you into the holiday spirits.

Are you planning on seeing any holiday plays this season? I know The Christmas Carol is a must for a lot of people.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in blogging, other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love David Sedaris and am jealous that you got to see this play! It sounds like it’s as good as I expected it to be. By the way, I didn’t realize you live in the South.

  2. I have heard great things about this play so I am glad to hear it was so much fun!

  3. This is actually the one Sedaris book that I was REALLY disappointed in! I liked parts of it, but overall it fell flat. On the other hand, I’ve loved his full-length books and find myself laughing so hard I cry when I read them or listen to audio versions.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

