Review: Anna and the French Kiss

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

Synopsis:

Anna can’t wait for her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a good job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she’s not too thrilled when her father unexpectedly ships her off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair, the perfect boy. The only problem? He’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her crush back home. Will a year of romantic near-misses end in the French kiss Anna awaits?

Wow! I can’t remember the last time a book made me this giddy. I’ll be the first to admit that I approached Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins with my optimism in check. I’ve read all the wonderful reviews about this book, and yet there was still something about it that made me hold back on it. Let me just say that my fear was for naught because this book by far exceeded my expectations.

I absolutely love and adore the characters. So many times you open up a book and the characters are perfect. They’re beautiful, handsome, smart, and well just perfect without any flaws, and it leaves you wondering if these characters even exist in real life? Well, no worries here because Anna and St. Clair are far from perfect. Anna has a gap between her teeth and St. Clair, while being dark and handsome is also a shorty. Their flaws add another dimension to their character that make them that more loveable. Not to mention that Perkins really hit the nail on grasping the emotions of a teenager as they struggle to deal with their high school crushes, friendship, current relationships, and parents.

Throughout the books, the characters were faced with real problems that I could see a normal high school student facing on a daily basis. The way they handle the situation and tackled each problem were true to how a teenager would behave in their shoes and it was so easy to see the characters coming to life and popping out of the book.

And as an added bonus, the book takes place in Paris. Perkins did a great job of describing the city and after reading the book I’m ready to pack my bags and book a flight to Paris.

I was pleasantly surprised by how fun and entertaining this book and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for some light reading. Anna and the French Kiss is a fast read that will bring back some high school memories, but in a good way.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on December 23, 2011, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It’s nice to see characters who are less than perfect – especially in a YA book. I grabbed this for my Kindle when it was free and haven’t read it yet. Somehow, I forget about ebooks. I’m glad you loved it. Merry Christmas!!

  2. I am so happy you loved this one as much as I did! It was definitely fun and I agree that the setting was simply perfect 🙂

  3. I keep hearing amazing things about this one. I really must read it.

Leave a Reply

