Review: The Sugar Queen

The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen

Publisher: Bantam

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

Synopsis:

Josey Cirrini is sure of three things: winter is her favorite season, she’s a sorry excuse for a Southern belle, and sweets are best eaten in the privacy of her closet. For while Josey has settled into an uneventful life in her mother’s house, her one consolation is the stockpile of sugary treats and paperback romances she escapes to each night…. Until she finds her closet harboring Della Lee Baker, a local waitress who is one part nemesis—and two parts fairy godmother. With Della Lee’s tough love, Josey’s narrow existence quickly expands. She even bonds with Chloe Finley, a young woman who is hounded by books that inexplicably appear when she needs them—and who has a close connection to Josey’s longtime crush. Soon Josey is living in a world where the color red has startling powers, and passion can make eggs fry in their cartons. And that’s just for starters.

Why haven’t I read any of Sarah Addison Allen’s novels until now? I had no idea how magical, sweet, and endearing The Sugar Queen was going to be or else I would have started it much earlier. I probably had this book sitting on my shelf for a good year or so and I kept passing it up for other books. Now my biggest regret is not purchasing more of her books when I had the chance.

To put it simply, this book was amazing! I absolutely loved and adored it and its one that’s going to sit with me for a while. I didn’t believe the blurb when it described this book as magical, but I honestly think that’s the best description for it. There’s just something about it that makes it sneak into your heart and stay there.

Although I didn’t fall in love with the characters right away, by the time the book ended, I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to them. They were wonderful and delightful to read about. I love reading about Josie’s struggles against her mother as she tried to figure out if there was more to life than just this. And Della Lee is just about the best godmother a girl could ask for. She’s the bad girl of the town and she’s been arrested a few times, but the changes she made to Josie’s life was nothing short of amazing.

I know this makes the book dated, but I love how Adam pulled out the yellow pages to look up Josie’s number to ask her out on a date. I mean how often does that happen nowadays? Do people even use the yellow pages anymore? Reading that put a smile on my face and it definitely brought up some good old memories.

I’m definitely going out to pick up a few more of Allen’s books the next time I head to a book store. I had no idea how wonderful and magical her writing is and The Sugar Queen is definitely one book that I would highly recommend to everyone. I’m glad I read it and I’m ending my year on a high note.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on December 27, 2011, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I love your enthusiasm for this book. I have a couple of Allen’s books – you make me want to read one of them right now. My mom still uses a phone book, but I don’t know many other people who do.

  2. I haven’t finished this one, but I’ve really enjoyed the other books I’ve read from Sarah Addison Allen. Garden Spells remains my favorite with The Girl Who Chased the Moon in second. 🙂

  3. I enjoyed the first few book by this author, and then just have not kept up.

  4. Oh I’ve been wanting to read books by this author too! Glad to hear it’s so good!

  5. The Sugar Queen is definitely favorite Allen book! The magical touches were just so perfect, and how could you not love that cover?

  6. All of her books are great…I’m always excited when she has a new one out!

  7. OH I love this book. So glad you read it and enjoyed it. It’s definitely one of my favorite SAA.

  1. Pingback: The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen | A Good Stopping Point

Leave a Reply

