Mini Reviews to Finish off the Year

I still have a few books that I’ve read, but need to review to wrap up my year so I decided to just do some mini reviews for these books. Plus I don’t have much to say about these books either so I guess it works out for the best. So without further ado, my final few reviews for 2011.

Sunrise of Avalon by Anna Elliott
Publisher: Touchstone
Ratings:
Source: Publisher

Thoughts: A good wrap up to the series, but not my favorite book of the trilogy. Overall, I enjoyed reading all of the books and Elliott manage to reach a balance between political intrigue and romance. The biggest setback for me is the lack of book time for the two characters together. It seemed like for a great majority of the books the two were always separated. Trystan was off fighting in the war, and Isolde was stuck at the safe house because she was pregnant. The author did manage to get the two characters together for a few scenes scattered throughout the book, but I wished they had more book time together. As far as endings go, however, it wrapped up the series quite nicely and tied up all the loose ends, which is all I really ask for in the last book of a trilogy.

  1. Twilight of Avalon
  2. Dark Moon of Avalon
  3. Sunrise of Avalon

Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch
Publisher: Crown
Ratings:
Source: Purchased

Thoughts: I think we’ve all been there where we thought about the “what-ifs” of life and the road not taken and maybe a few of us has wished that we could turn back time and redo it. Well Jillian gets that chance when she wakes up one day only to realize that she’s seven years back in the past. She gets the chance to relive her life and answer all those what if questions she’s had. Going into this novel I thought it had such a great premise and it sounded interesting, but as I read it I was a bit disappointed by the book. It was a quick and fast read, but too predictable for my taste. I don’t mind predictability every now and then, but I thought with the premise she could of done something more with it and taken the character on a different adventure. Also, for some reason I could never really connect with any of the characters, which made it a little more difficult to read.

Dead until Dark by Charlaine Harris
Publisher: Penguin
Ratings:
Source: Borrowed

Thoughts: My friends are HUGE True Blood and Sookie Stackhouse fans so one of them lent me her books so I can catch up on the series and join them in their discussions. Am I the only one that went into this book thinking Sookie was a vampire? Turns out I was quite wrong about that, but I guess that’s what I get for semi listening to my friends’ discussions of True Blood. I can definitely see why people love this series. It was a fun, silly, and light book with charming and endearing characters that are easy to relate to despite the fact that most of them are supernatural. There’s humor in it with just enough mystery and suspense to keep you going. I’m definitely looking forward to the rest of this series.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in book reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for your thoughts on these. I’ve got Time of My Life and will save it for a time when I’m distracted – predictable works for me then.

  2. Time of My Life was one that I was intrigued by so thanks for your honest thoughts on that one!

  3. Hope 2012 is a wonderful year for you.

  4. I wish I could go back 7 years to redo some stuff. I’d be a more relaxed new mom — that is for sure! I read the first two Sookie books and just didn’t fall in love with them. I’ve not watched the show though.

Leave a Reply

