Review: The Demi-Monde: Winter

The Demi-Monde: Winter by Rod Rees

Publisher: William Morrow

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

Synopsis:

The Demi-Monde is the most advanced simulation ever devised. Thirty million people ruled by history’s cruelest tyrants, locked in eternal civil conflict. The intention: to create the closest thing to Hell, and prepare soldiers for the nightmarish environment of war.

But something has gone badly wrong. Reinhard Heydrich or at least a simulacrum resembling the Nazi monster has kidnapped the President’s daughter from the Real-World and concealed her within the Demi-Monde, making it impossible for the program to be switched off. This achieved, he has cut off all contact with reality.

It falls to Ella Thomas, a young jazz singer, to infiltrate Heydrich’s virtual domain and rescue the missing girl. But once inside she will discover that everything in the Demi-Monde is not as it seems, and that the Real-World may be in more danger than everyone outside realizes.

The Demi-Monde by Rod Rees, part Matrix, part Hunger Games, pure entertainment and fun. I’ll be the first to admit that I was a little intimidated by this book when it first landed on my doorstep. Sitting at a little under 600 pages, I was definitely worried that I wouldn’t be able to get through this book. Of course, after a few chapters in, I was hooked and my worries about not finishing it quickly vanished.

I’m not a huge sci-fi nut and I don’t read a ton of it, but every now and then, a book just happens to catch my eye and makes me want to read it. I thought the creation of the Demi-Monde and the idea behind it was unique and different. I don’t think I’ve read anything like this before and I really enjoyed the dystopian world that Rees created. The plot was exciting and thrilling and kept me flipping the pages well into the night.

My only complaint for the book would be the characters. You know I love my characters and I love seeing how a character develops throughout the course of a book so I was definitely disappointed by the characters presented in Demi-Monde. I don’t think there was one character in this book that I was particularly fond of by the end of the book. The president’s daughter, Norma, was snobby and pretentious throughout the book; Ella didn’t seem to change at all in the book; and Trixie Dashwood turned into a killing machine that reminded me much of Gale in Mockinjay of the Hunger Games Trilogy.

Although I’m not completely in love with the characters, I  did enjoy the book enough to want to read the rest of the saga. The book ended on quite a cliffhanger, so I’m eager for the next book to see what happens to our characters. If you’re looking for a thrilling science fiction, historical fiction, steampunk, then you may just want to pick up Demi-Monde by Rod Rees. The plot moves along quite nicely and despite its bulky size, I never thought the book dragged or anything.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on January 5, 2012, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The book sounds exciting and unique, but you’d think that considering it’s length, the characters would be more developed. Still, I’ll keep this one in mind!

  2. I bet my sister would love this!

Leave a Reply

