Review: The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories

The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories: Volume 1 by Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Publisher: IT Books

Source: Publisher

From the publisher:

To create The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories, Joseph Gordon-Levitt–known within the hitRECord.org community as RegularJOE–directs thousands of collaborators to tell tiny stories through words and art. With the help of the entire creative collective, Joe culls, edits and curates the massive numbers of contributions into this finely tuned collection. Reminiscent of the 6-Word Memoir series and the PostSecret books, The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories brings together art and voices from around the world to unite and tell stories that defy size.

WOW! What an incredible book, despite its size. True to its word, the book is quite tiny, but it’s so wonderful and magnificent! My only issue with the book was that it was way too short! The writing is quite clever and witty and the illustrations are amazing. I’m a pretty terrible artist though so if you can draw something beyond stick figures then I pretty much consider you a Van Gogh.

Most of the stories are only about one or two pages long, but the meaning behind the stories are profound and ingenious. I love the clever play on old clichés and sayings. This was definitely a fun book to read by yourself, but I think it would be an even better book to read with others and discuss it.

I absolutely loved this book and highly recommend it for everyone! Not to mention it would make a great gift too if you can’t think of anything to give your friends and family.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on January 9, 2012, in book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wasn’t it awesome! I kept mine and look at it occasionally 🙂 I would love to have some of them blown up and put on my wall!

  2. I agree with you – this book is amazing!!

  3. O how cute. I totally want to know more.

  4. Glad you enjoyed it. I’ve heard good things about it and the only complaint I’ve seen so far is like yours, just that it’s too short!

  5. This book sounds highly unusual but super cool! Thanks for turning me onto it!

  6. I loved it too! Especially the little twists that so many of the stories had.

  7. Yay! Glad you liked it as much as I did!

  8. Oh, I had never heard of it but it sounds like something I MUST add to my shelves!

Leave a Reply

