Review: The Love of Her Life

The Love of Her Life by Harriet Evans

Publisher: Downtown Press

Ratings:

Source: Borrowed

Synopsis:

Thirty-year-old Kate Miller fled London two years ago when her life fell apart spectacularly. Living in New York with her mother and stepfather and working half-heartedly as a literary agent, Kate must return to London when her father, a famous classical musician, undergoes a kidney transplant. She’s only returning for a short visit, or so she thinks. But once in London, she faces the friends who are bound with her forever as a result of one day when life changed for all of them. What really happened before Kate left London? And can she pick up the pieces and allow herself to love her own life again?

I love reading brit lit so I was super excited when my friend lent me this book and told me how much she loved it. The Love of her Life by Harriet Evans is a fun and entertaining book and it definitely hit the spot if you’re looking for a chick lit novel with a bit of British flare to it.

Personally, I thought the book started a little slow, but that was mainly because I wasn’t completely in love with Kate. I don’t know what it is about this year, but it just seems like I can’t fall in love with any of the characters. Maybe I’m just getting too picky. I did finally warm up to Kate a bit as the book progressed and I had no problem with the characterization and development of her character, but there was just something about her that made me hold back.

On the other hand, I absolutely loved and adore Mac. Quite honestly, I thought he was too good for her by the time the book ended. He had to be the most patient, loving, big hearted person in the whole wide world to be able to forgive her so many times and stick around until the end.

The novel moved back and forth between the present and the past as the author slowly uncovered the reason behind Kate’s departure to New York. The plot was a little predictable, but the novel was still fun and enjoyable nevertheless. I would recommend it to those who are looking for a good chick lit novel.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on January 26, 2012, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I do love me some British chick lit. Jill Mansell is my favorite, but I will keep this one in mind.

  2. Sounds fun. Such a cutie cover. Great honest review.

    When I read Brit lit, I do allot of web searching to find out what certain words mean 😉

  3. It seems like there is always a character like Kate in chick lit.

  4. This sounds like a cute, fun read! I enjoy these from time to time and I’m always on the lookout for suggestions of the genre. I’ll add this one for sure!

Leave a Reply

