Review: American Sniper

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History by Chris Kyle, Scott Mcewen, Jim DeFelice

Publisher: William Morrow

Source: Publisher

Synopsis:

From 1999 to 2009, U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle recorded the most career sniper kills in United States military history. Iraqi insurgents feared him so much they called him al-Shaitan (“the devil”) and placed a $20,000 bounty on his head. Kyle earned legendary status among his fellow SEALs, Marines, and U.S. Army soldiers, fighting alongside them in the streets, as well as protecting them from rooftops and stealth positions. Through four combat deployments, he was awarded seven medals for bravery, including two Silver Stars. Gripping and unforgettable, Kyle’s masterful account of his extraordinary battlefield experiences ranks as one of the great war memoirs of all time.

Wow, I’m not even sure where to begin reviewing this book. I have the highest respect for people who serve in the U.S. military so I’ve always wanted to read books about them. American Sniper by Chris Kyle, however, was the first book I’ve read that gave me a firsthand account of what actually happened overseas.

This book was truly an eye opener and made me realize how ignorant I was about the war and what was actually happening over there as well as the emotions that they went through. You hear about America’s Most Wanted list, but it never even crossed my mind that there are American soldiers on other country’s most wanted list; that there’s a bounty out for them. I didn’t realize how much they sacrificed until I read this book and it makes me so much more grateful and appreciative of what they do for us on a daily basis.

The American Sniper, is a brutally honest account of war and it’s probably not a book for everyone. It’s not going to win any literary awards for its writing, but what it lacks in prose it makes up in gut wrenching and heartfelt emotions. There were moments where I was laughing along with him and other moments where I broke down and cried. Just thinking about the book and trying to review it makes tears come to my eyes. The book is also interspersed with writing from his wife and her feelings towards the war and his employment and the difficulties that she had to face with him being away so much. It’s a humbling book and one with nitty gritty details about the war that aren’t easy to swallow, but at the same time it makes you appreciate what you have the simple things in life.

I know this is one of those books that are going to stay with me for a really long time. I’m really glad that I had the opportunity to read American Sniper by Chris Kyle and I’m looking forward to getting my hands on Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell, another book by a former Navy SEAL.

To view an excerpt of American Sniper by Chris Kyle, please click here.

[ purchase from amazon ]

Posted on February 13, 2012, in book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sounds emotional and enlightening. Great review.

  2. Sounds like an interesting read. I always have wondered what happens to these guys when they come home and try to settle back into a “normal” life after being a sniper. Doing this for a living has to take a toll on someone.

  3. I didn’t realize our soldiers were on others most wanted lists either, but I guess it makes sense when you think about it.

Leave a Reply

