Review: One for the Money

One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

Publisher: St Martin’s

Ratings:

Source: Purchased

Synopsis:

Welcome to Trenton, New Jersey, home to wiseguys, average Joes, and Stephanie Plum, who sports a big attitude and even bigger money problems (since losing her job as a lingerie buyer for a department store). Stephanie needs cash-fast-but times are tough, and soon she’s forced to turn to the last resort of the truly desperate: family…

Stephanie lands a gig at her sleazy cousin Vinnie’s bail bonding company. She’s got no experience. But that doesn’t matter. As does the fact that the bail jumper in question is local vice cop Joe Morelli. From the time he first looked up her dress to the time he first got into her pants, to the time Steph hit him with her father’s Buick, M-o-r-e-l-l-i has spelled t-r-o-u-b-l-e. And now the hot guy is in hot water-wanted for murder…

Abject poverty is a great motivator for learning new skills, but being trained in the school of hard knocks by people like psycho prizefighter Benito Ramirez isn’t. Still, if Stephanie can nab Morelli in a week, she’ll make a cool ten grand. All she has to do is become an expert bounty hunter overnight-and keep herself from getting killed before she gets her man…

It’s taken me quite a while to get on the Stephanie Plum train, but boy am I ready for the ride! My friend has tried to talk me into reading the series several times, but I didn’t have the books and I hate reading a series out of order so I always pushed it off until I saw that there was a movie coming out for it. Of course being the book worm that I am, I had to read the book before I watch the movie. And although I have read the book, I believe the movie came and went without me getting a chance to watch it! (I was just too busy!) I’ll just have to catch it on redbox later when it comes out on DVD.

Regardless, I’m definitely hooked as a Stephanie Plum fan now. The characters were amazing from Stephanie to her grandmother to Morelli and Ranger. It’s difficult for me to say which team I’m on, although I think I’m leaning a little more towards Morelli just because I’m a sucker for childhood sweethearts and first loves. Although I highly doubt Stephanie would consider Morelli as her childhood sweetheart or first love, seeing that she tried to run him over at one point in her life.

One for the Money was just one of those books that hit all the right places. It was funny, amusing, and entertaining with an exciting mystery for our heroine to solve and a loveable cast of characters to boot. The book reminded me a bit of the Spellman Series by Lisa Lutz in that it’s a mystery series yet its light hearted and fun too.

I highly recommend One for the Money by Janet Evanovich to anyone who is looking for some light reading with plenty of laughs.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on March 2, 2012, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’re in for a treat – the early books in this series are so much fun!

  2. I think I read the first 10 in this series, and then grew tired with the series. I did love the earliest ones, Grandma M was my favorite. Bet the movie is fun too.

    Have a great week.

  3. I love this series, but if you read them one after the other they do get boring. There’s not a lot of growth in the series, but I still enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

